Among these cordless impact drivers, I rank the DEWALT DCF845B as the best overall for buyers who want brushless power, three speed settings, and an LED without stepping up to the specialized hydraulic design. The DEWALT DCF870B is the standout for quieter, smoother fastening, while the CRAFTSMAN V20 Brushless RP is a more approachable compact kit option. The main tradeoff is whether to prioritize power and control, a complete starter kit, or lower noise and smoother operation. Battery compatibility matters too: a bare tool may be a poor fit if you do not already own its platform. Read on for the full breakdown of all 13 picks and how I’d match them to different projects.
Complete the kit
Key Takeaways
- The DEWALT DCF845B leads on all-around control: its brushless motor and three speed settings give it more flexibility than simpler single-speed options.
- The DCF870B fills a different niche from high-speed impact drivers: its hydraulic mechanism favors smoother, quieter fastening rather than serving as a direct substitute for every high-torque job.
- Kit contents can matter more than headline power: bundled batteries and a charger make the BLACK+DECKER, Craftsman, and combo kits more practical for buyers starting without a compatible platform.
- Several options serve similar entry-level needs: compare the BLACK+DECKER, Craftsman, and basic DEWALT kits by included battery, platform fit, and intended workload instead of assuming brand name alone decides the choice.
- Brushless models make the clearest case for heavier repeat use: the DCF860B, DCF845B, CRAFTSMAN Brushless RP, and two 21V brushless sets target buyers who value motor efficiency and sustained work, though kit support and control features differ.
| cordless impact driver | Maximum torque | Voltage | Chuck size | Maximum speed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX POWERCONN | 1,375 in-lb | 20 volts | 1/4 inch (6.35 mm) | — |
| Craftsman Cordless 1/4 Impact | 1,800 in-lb | 20 volts | — | — |
| DEWALT 20V MAX 1/4 Inch Hydrau | 500 in-lb | 20 volts | 1/4 inch | — |
| 2832 in-lbs Brushless 21V 1/4" | 2,832 in-lb | 21 volts | 1/4 inch | — |
| 21V Brushless Impact Driver Se | 2,655 in-lb | 21 volts | 1/4 inch | 1,400 rpm |
| DEWALT 20V MAX Drill and Impac | — | — | — | — |
| CRAFTSMAN V20 Brushless RP Com | 1,000 in-lb | — | — | — |
| DEWALT 20V MAX XR 1/4 Inch Cor | 2,500 in-lb | — | 1/4 inch | 3,800 RPM |
| 21V Brushless Impact Driver Se | 2,655 in-lb | 21 volts | 1/4 inch | 1,400 RPM |
| DEWALT 20V MAX XR Impact Drive | 1,825 in-lb | — | 1/4 inch | 3,400 RPM |
| DEWALT 20V MAX Impact Driver | — | 20 volts | 1/4 inch | 2,800 rpm |
| Craftsman V20 MAX Cordless Dri | — | 20 volts | — | 2,800 rpm |
| CRAFTSMAN 20V MAX Impact Drive | 1,460 in-lb | 20 volts | 1/4 inch | 2,800 rpm |
More Details on Our Top Picks
BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX POWERCONNECT 1/4 in. Cordless Impact Driver Kit (BDCI20C)
The BLACK+DECKER BDCI20C makes the most sense for DIYers who already own compatible POWERCONNECT batteries and want a compact driver for routine fastening. Its listed 1,375 in-lb of torque gives it more headroom than the DEWALT DCF870B’s 500 in-lb, while the single-speed setup keeps operation straightforward. The tradeoff is less control over pace: compared with the variable-speed Craftsman 20V impact driver, this model offers fewer ways to tailor speed to delicate screws or different materials. Its included 1.5 Ah battery also suits shorter jobs better than extended sessions. The quick-release hex chuck helps speed bit changes, but buyers without compatible batteries should weigh the limited capacity and single-speed design before choosing it.
Pros:- Compatible with interchangeable POWERCONNECT batteries
- Compact, lightweight design helps reduce fatigue
- Quick-release 1/4-inch hex chuck speeds bit changes
- Listed torque of 1,375 in-lb exceeds the DEWALT DCF870B’s 500 in-lb
Cons:- Single speed provides less control than the variable-speed Craftsman 20V impact driver
- The included 1.5 Ah battery may need frequent charging during longer jobs
Best for: DIYers who already own BLACK+DECKER POWERCONNECT batteries and need a compact driver for occasional household fastening
Not ideal for: People tackling long work sessions or delicate, varied fastening tasks who need longer runtime or more speed control
- Power source:Battery powered
- Voltage:20 volts
- Maximum torque:1,375 in-lb
- Maximum rotational speed:3,000 rpm
- Number of speeds:1
- Chuck size:1/4 inch (6.35 mm)
- Battery capacity:1.5 Ah
- Battery type:Lithium-ion
Our verdict“Choose the BDCI20C for compact, occasional fastening if you already have POWERCONNECT batteries; skip it if runtime or speed adjustment matters more.”
Craftsman Cordless 1/4 Impact Driver with 2 Ah Lithium Ion Battery, Charger, and PH2 Screwdriving Bit
The Craftsman 20V impact driver is a practical kit for home repairs and assembly, pairing a variable-speed trigger with a 2 Ah battery, charger, and PH2 bit. That trigger gives it a useful control advantage over the single-speed BLACK+DECKER BDCI20C when a task calls for a gentler start, and its listed 1,800 in-lb torque is higher than the BLACK+DECKER’s 1,375 in-lb. Craftsman also cites capacity for up to 120 fasteners per charge, though actual runtime will vary with the material and fastener. The kit’s main limitation is that it includes only one battery, so frequent users may need a spare ready. At 4.1 pounds, it is also less appealing for extended overhead work than a lighter compact option.
Pros:- Variable-speed trigger offers more pace control than the BLACK+DECKER BDCI20C
- Includes a 2 Ah battery, charger, and PH2 screwdriving bit
- Listed 1,800 in-lb torque suits a range of household fastening jobs
- LED light helps illuminate dim work areas
Cons:- Only one battery is included, limiting continuous work without a recharge
- Listed 4.1-pound weight may feel tiring during extended or overhead use
Best for: Home DIYers who want a ready-to-use kit with variable speed for furniture assembly, repairs, and general fastening
Not ideal for: Frequent users who need uninterrupted runtime or anyone prioritizing a lightweight tool for long overhead sessions
- Power source:Battery powered
- Voltage:20 volts
- Maximum torque:1,800 in-lb
- Maximum rotational speed:2,900 rpm
- Battery capacity:2 Ah
- Battery type:Lithium-ion
- Weight:4.1 pounds
- Included accessories:Battery, charger, and PH2 screwdriving bit
Our verdict“Pick this Craftsman kit for controlled household fastening in a ready-to-use package, but look elsewhere if you need a spare battery or a lighter tool.”
DEWALT 20V MAX 1/4 Inch Hydraulic Impact Driver (DCF870B)
The DEWALT DCF870B takes a different approach from the higher-torque drivers here: its hydraulic mechanism is designed for quieter operation, with noise reduction listed at up to 57%, and a compact form suited to confined work areas. That makes it a distinctive choice for cabinetry, framing, or indoor jobs where noise matters more than maximum fastening force. Its 500 in-lb torque is far below the 1,800 in-lb listed for the Craftsman 20V impact driver and the higher figures on both 21V brushless sets, so it is not the pick for stubborn, heavy-duty fastening. Two speeds add more adjustment than the BLACK+DECKER BDCI20C, but this is a bare tool: the battery and charger are not included.
Pros:- Hydraulic mechanism is designed to reduce operating noise by up to 57%
- Compact design suits tight work areas
- Two speeds offer more adjustment than the BLACK+DECKER BDCI20C
- Compatible with the DEWALT 20V MAX battery platform
Cons:- Listed 500 in-lb torque is substantially lower than the Craftsman and 21V brushless options
- Battery and charger must be supplied separately
Best for: DEWALT 20V MAX owners doing indoor cabinetry or other fastening jobs where reduced operating noise and a compact tool matter
Not ideal for: Buyers who need high torque for heavy fastening or need a complete kit with battery and charger
- Power source:Battery
- Voltage:20 volts
- Maximum torque:500 in-lb
- Maximum rotational speed:3,000 rpm
- Number of speeds:2
- Chuck size:1/4 inch
- Battery type:Lithium-ion
- Warranty:3 years
Our verdict“Choose the DCF870B for quieter, compact fastening on the DEWALT 20V MAX platform, not for jobs that demand high torque or a complete kit.”
2832 in-lbs Brushless 21V 1/4″ Cordless Power Impact Driver Set
This 21V brushless impact driver set stands out for its listed 2,832 in-lb torque and a package built for longer work sessions: two 2.0 Ah batteries, a fast charger, and accessories are included. That torque figure is higher than the 2,655 in-lb listed for the other 21V brushless set in this lineup, while its 3,200 rpm maximum speed supports fast driving. Multiple speed and mode options are useful when a job calls for more control than the single-speed BLACK+DECKER BDCI20C offers. The tradeoff is that the product data does not specify battery compatibility beyond the set itself, so buyers should not assume it shares a platform with established 20V tools. Minor bit movement after installation is also noted, and runtime depends on the task.
Pros:- Listed 2,832 in-lb torque is higher than the other 21V brushless set’s 2,655 in-lb
- Includes two 2.0 Ah batteries and a fast charger
- Multiple speed and mode options allow adjustment for different materials
- Brushless motor and built-in LED work light
Cons:- Battery compatibility beyond the included set is not specified
- Minor bit movement after installation is reported
- Runtime varies with workload and material
Best for: DIYers who want a high-torque brushless driver with two batteries and a charger included for varied fastening and assembly work
Not ideal for: Buyers who need a clearly specified cross-tool battery platform or who depend on a stable bit fit for precision work
- Power source:Battery powered
- Voltage:21 volts
- Maximum torque:2,832 in-lb
- Maximum rotational speed:3,200 rpm
- Chuck size:1/4 inch
- Motor:Brushless
- Included batteries:Two 2.0 Ah batteries
- Included charging equipment:Fast charger
Our verdict“Choose this set for high listed torque and included batteries, but skip it if you need a clearly defined battery ecosystem or dependable bit stability.”
21V Brushless Impact Driver Set – 1/4″ Cordless Impact Driver with 2 Batteries
For buyers who value fewer battery interruptions, this 21V brushless set includes two 4.0 Ah batteries, a charger, and a carrying case with sockets and bits. Its stated 2,655 in-lb torque is strong for fastening, though it falls below the 2,832 in-lb listed for the other 21V brushless set. The listed maximum speed of 1,400 rpm is also lower than that rival’s 3,200 rpm, so this is less compelling for buyers focused on fast driving. Two speed settings and an adjustable mode add some control, while the all-metal hex chuck supports bit and socket changes. At 3.62 pounds, it may tire users during long overhead jobs; compared with the compact DEWALT DCF870B, it gives up a lighter, quieter-work focus for a larger battery bundle.
Pros:- Includes two 4.0 Ah batteries, a charger, and a carrying case with bits and sockets
- Brushless motor and listed 2,655 in-lb torque suit demanding fastening
- Two speeds and adjustable mode provide more control than the single-speed BLACK+DECKER BDCI20C
- Built-in LED light and all-metal hex chuck support work and accessory changes
Cons:- Listed 3.62-pound weight may cause fatigue during prolonged use
- Listed 1,400 rpm maximum speed is lower than the other 21V brushless set’s 3,200 rpm
- Designed for impact-driver fastening, not drilling
Best for: DIYers and maintenance workers who want two higher-capacity batteries and a supplied bit-and-socket set for extended fastening tasks
Not ideal for: People prioritizing a light tool for overhead work or maximum driving speed, or those who need an impact driver for drilling
- Power source:Battery powered
- Voltage:21 volts
- Maximum torque:2,655 in-lb
- Maximum speed:1,400 rpm
- Number of speeds:2
- Chuck size:1/4 inch
- Motor:Brushless
- Included batteries:Two 4.0 Ah lithium-ion batteries
- Weight:3.62 pounds
Our verdict“Choose this set for its two 4.0 Ah batteries and included accessories, but favor a lighter or faster option if overhead comfort or driving speed comes first.”
DEWALT 20V MAX Drill and Impact Driver (DCK240C2)
I’d choose this kit when the job calls for both drilling holes and driving fasteners, rather than buying an impact driver alone. Its 20V MAX impact driver is listed at 1,700 in-lb of torque, while the included drill handles tasks that a driver is not meant to replace. Compared with the CRAFTSMAN V20 Brushless RP Compact Impact Driver Kit, this DEWALT gives you a second tool and two batteries, but the CRAFTSMAN is the more focused pick for compact driving and brushless efficiency. Integrated lights and a storage bag make the set practical for moving between work areas. The tradeoff is added kit weight and the limits of the supplied batteries under sustained heavy workloads; buyers who already own a compatible drill and battery platform may be better served by a bare driver.
Pros:- Includes both a drill and an impact driver for a wider range of jobs
- Two lithium-ion batteries, charger, and storage bag come in the kit
- Compact tools and integrated LED lights suit tight or dim work areas
- Listed 1,700 in-lb torque supports demanding fastening tasks
Cons:- The combined kit is heavier to carry and use over long sessions
- Battery runtime may fall short during sustained heavy workloads
Best for: Home renovators and general-purpose users who need a drill and an impact driver in one ready-to-work kit.
Not ideal for: DEWALT 20V MAX owners who already have a drill and batteries, or anyone seeking the lightest setup for extended overhead fastening.
- Platform voltage:20 volts
- Listed torque:1,700 in-lb
- Included batteries:2 lithium-ion batteries
- Weight:3.6 pounds
- Power source:Battery powered
- Included tools:Drill and impact driver
- Warranty:3-year limited warranty
Our verdict“Choose this DEWALT kit if you need a drill alongside your impact driver; skip it if you only want a compact driver or already own the companion tools.”
CRAFTSMAN V20 Brushless RP Compact Impact Driver Kit (CMCF811D1)
The CRAFTSMAN’s main advantage is its 5.02-inch tool head, which is aimed at fitting into crowded framing, cabinet, and repair spaces. Its brushless motor and stated ability to drive up to 294 deck screws per charge make it a more focused compact-driver option than the DEWALT DCK240C2, which adds a drill but is a broader, heavier kit. The claimed 19% faster driving than RYOBI gives buyers a comparison point, though actual results depend on the fastener, material, and battery. A built-in LED helps when the work area is poorly lit, and VERSATRACK compatibility may appeal to users organizing a CRAFTSMAN setup. The key catch is that the battery and charger are sold separately. It also cannot replace a drill for drilling-only tasks, so it makes the most sense for buyers already equipped with V20 batteries.
Pros:- Short 5.02-inch tool head helps reach into tight spaces
- Brushless motor is paired with a stated 294 deck screws per charge
- Built-in LED provides focused light at the fastener
- VERSATRACK compatibility supports organized tool storage
Cons:- Battery and charger are sold separately
- Impact-driver-only design does not cover drill-only tasks
- Listed torque is lower than the DEWALT DCF860B and the 21V set in this roundup
Best for: DIYers and tradespeople with CRAFTSMAN V20 batteries who need a short-head brushless driver for cramped work areas.
Not ideal for: First-time tool buyers who need a battery and charger included, or users who want one tool for both drilling and impact driving.
- Platform voltage:20 volts
- Maximum torque:1,000 in-lb
- Tool head length:5.02 inches
- Motor:Brushless
- Battery type:Lithium-ion
- Weight:3.8 pounds
- Additional feature:VERSATRACK compatible
Our verdict“Pick this compact CRAFTSMAN if you already own V20 batteries and prioritize access in tight spaces over an included battery or maximum listed torque.”
DEWALT 20V MAX XR 1/4 Inch Cordless Impact Driver, Bare Tool Only (DCF860B)
For buyers who put demanding fastening ahead of kit completeness, the DCF860B has the strongest listed torque among these five options at 2,500 in-lb. Its brushless motor, three speed modes, and stated 3,800 RPM give more room to adapt the tool to different fasteners than the single-speed 21V Brushless Impact Driver Set. That control matters when high output is useful on one task but risks overdriving or damaging material on another. It is a bare tool, though, so a compatible DEWALT 20V MAX battery and charger are required; the 21V set is more convenient for buyers starting without batteries because it includes two. This is an impact driver, not a drill, and its high output may be unnecessary for routine furniture assembly or light household fastening.
Pros:- Highest listed torque among these five products at 2,500 in-lb
- Brushless motor and three speed modes offer power with adjustable control
- Listed maximum speed of 3,800 RPM supports fast driving
- Built-in LEDs help illuminate the work area
Cons:- Battery and charger are sold separately
- No carrying case is included
- Impact-driver-only tool does not replace a drill
Best for: DEWALT 20V MAX users who regularly drive large or stubborn fasteners and want multiple speed settings.
Not ideal for: New cordless-tool buyers without compatible batteries, or people mainly doing light fastening who would rather have a more complete kit.
- Platform voltage:20 volts
- Maximum torque:2,500 in-lb
- Maximum speed:3,800 RPM
- Speed settings:3
- Chuck size:1/4 inch
- Motor:Brushless
- Battery and charger:Sold separately
Our verdict“Choose the DCF860B for demanding fastening and adjustable speed if you already own DEWALT 20V MAX batteries.”
21V Brushless Impact Driver Set, 1/4″ Cordless Impact Driver, Red
This set is the convenient pick for someone who wants a driver and batteries in the same box: it includes two 4.0Ah batteries, a charger, and assorted bits and sockets. Its listed 2,655 in-lb torque exceeds the DEWALT DCF860B’s 2,500 in-lb figure, but the comparison is not only about peak output: the DEWALT offers three speed modes, while this set lists one speed setting. That limits how finely a buyer can adapt the driver to delicate or varied fastening. The included batteries make it more self-contained than the bare-tool DEWALT options, and the LED and ergonomic design are useful for general job-site work. On the other hand, the stated 1,400 RPM maximum is lower than the DEWALT models’ listed speeds, and the tool may cause fatigue during long sessions.
Pros:- Includes two 4.0Ah batteries and a charger
- Listed 2,655 in-lb torque suits demanding fastening
- Assorted sockets and bits add useful accessories to the set
- LED lighting and ergonomic design support work in dim spaces
Cons:- One speed setting offers less control than the three-speed DEWALT DCF860B
- Listed maximum speed of 1,400 RPM is lower than the DEWALT options here
- Heavy weight may lead to fatigue during prolonged use
Best for: Buyers starting without a battery platform who want two batteries and assorted bits for demanding fastening jobs.
Not ideal for: Users who need variable speed control for delicate work, or anyone prioritizing a lighter tool for long overhead sessions.
- Voltage:21 volts
- Maximum torque:2,655 in-lb
- Maximum speed:1,400 RPM
- Chuck size:1/4 inch
- Motor:Brushless
- Included batteries:2 x 4.0Ah
- Included accessories:Charger, sockets, and bits
Our verdict“Choose this set if an included battery supply and accessory bundle matter more than variable speed control or a lighter tool.”
DEWALT 20V MAX XR Impact Driver, 1/4 Inch High Torque Brushless 3-Speed Cordless with LED Light, Extended Runtime (DCF845B)
The DCF845B sits between the compact CRAFTSMAN and the higher-output DEWALT DCF860B: its 1,825 in-lb torque is substantial for demanding fastening, while three speed settings offer more control than the single-speed 21V set. That makes it a sensible choice for a DEWALT 20V MAX owner who wants one driver for a mix of fastening jobs without stepping up to the DCF860B’s higher listed torque. Its compact design and LED light also help in confined or dim work areas. The tradeoff is that this is a bare tool: no battery, charger, or accessories are included. The listed weight is 1 kg, which may feel tiring during extended overhead work, and the tool remains an impact driver rather than a drill.
Pros:- Three speed settings help match output to different fastening tasks
- Listed 1,825 in-lb torque handles demanding driving
- Compact design and LED light suit confined, dim work areas
- Compatible with DEWALT 20V MAX batteries
Cons:- Battery, charger, and accessories are not included
- Listed 1 kg weight may feel tiring during extended use
- Lower listed torque than the DEWALT DCF860B and 21V brushless set
Best for: DEWALT 20V MAX owners seeking a brushless three-speed driver for varied fastening and occasional heavy-duty work.
Not ideal for: New tool buyers who need a battery and charger in the box, or users prioritizing the highest listed torque in this group.
- Platform voltage:20 volts
- Maximum torque:1,825 in-lb
- Maximum speed:3,400 RPM
- Speed settings:3
- Chuck size:1/4 inch
- Weight:1 kg
- Warranty:3-year limited warranty
Our verdict“Pick the DCF845B if you already have DEWALT 20V MAX batteries and want a compact, three-speed driver without needing the highest output available.”
DEWALT 20V MAX Impact Driver, 1/4 Inch, Battery and Charger Included
This brushless DEWALT pairs a compact form with a battery and charger, so buyers can start fastening without adding a separate kit. Its listed 2,800 rpm and variable-speed control suit a range of driving tasks, while the LED helps when a fastener sits in a dim corner. Compared with the CRAFTSMAN 20V MAX Impact Driver Kit, it emphasizes a brushless motor and a complete ready-to-use package rather than a stated low weight. The main caution is the spec sheet: its 1,500 ft-lb torque figure is unusually high for this class and may be a unit error, so I would not choose it based on that number. At a listed 4.4 pounds, it may also feel tiring during long overhead sessions.
Pros:- Brushless motor is specified for increased durability
- Battery and charger are included
- Variable speed and 2,800 rpm support controlled fastening
- LED work light helps illuminate dim work areas
Cons:- Listed 4.4-pound weight may cause fatigue during extended use
- The 1,500 ft-lb torque figure may be a unit error
- An impact driver is not a substitute for a drill when drilling versatility is needed
Best for: DIYers who want a brushless, battery-included driver for occasional fastening in confined or poorly lit work areas
Not ideal for: Buyers doing long overhead fastening sessions or choosing a tool chiefly by torque claims; its listed weight is 4.4 pounds and the torque unit appears questionable
- Motor:Brushless
- Voltage:20 volts
- Maximum speed:2,800 rpm
- Chuck size:1/4 inch
- Battery capacity:1.3 Ah
- Battery type:Lithium-ion
- Variable speed:Yes
- Included:Battery and charger
Our verdict“Choose this DEWALT for a brushless, ready-to-use driver in tight work areas, but verify the torque specification and account for its listed weight.”
Craftsman V20 MAX Cordless Drill and Impact Driver Set, 2 Batteries, Charger
The appeal here is the drill-and-impact-driver pairing: the impact driver handles screws and heavier fastening, while the drill covers jobs that call for drilling or a different chuck setup. Two 2 Ah batteries let one pack charge while the other is in use, a practical advantage over the single-battery CRAFTSMAN 20V MAX Impact Driver Kit. The included bag and bits also make this a more complete home-workshop starting point than a driver-only purchase. The tradeoff is that buyers focused specifically on impact driving pay for a second tool they may rarely use, and the supplied specs do not state the impact driver’s weight or a separate speed-control setup. Its listed 1,460 in-lb impact-driver torque makes it a capable general-purpose choice, not a clear step up for buyers seeking maximum fastening output.
Pros:- Includes both a drill/driver and impact driver
- Two 2 Ah lithium-ion batteries support rotation during longer tasks
- Charger, storage bag, and bits are included
- LED lights and compact ergonomic designs aid everyday use
Cons:- The extra drill adds cost and storage needs for impact-driver-only buyers
- Impact-driver torque is listed at 1,460 in-lb, below the drill’s separate 1,500 in-lb figure
- Product data does not specify the impact driver’s weight
Best for: First-time homeowners and DIYers who need both a drill for holes and an impact driver for screws, with a spare battery for longer projects
Not ideal for: Tool owners who already have a capable drill or want the lightest, simplest impact-driver-only kit
- Voltage:20 volts
- Tools included:Drill/driver and impact driver
- Impact-driver torque:1,460 in-lb
- Drill torque:1,500 in-lb
- Maximum speed:2,800 rpm
- Batteries:2 lithium-ion batteries
- Battery capacity:2 Ah each
- Included accessories:Charger, storage bag, and bits
Our verdict“Pick this set if you need a drill and impact driver together; skip it if your only goal is a dedicated fastening tool.”
CRAFTSMAN 20V MAX Impact Driver Kit, 1/4 Inch, 2,800 RPM, LED Work Light, Battery and Charger Included
At a listed 2.5 pounds, this CRAFTSMAN is the clear lightweight pick among these three, making it better suited to overhead fastening or carrying from task to task than the DEWALT model listed at 4.4 pounds. It still offers 1,460 in-lb torque and 2,800 rpm, enough on paper for screws, lag bolts, and larger fasteners, with a 1/4-inch chuck for impact-rated bits. The battery and charger make it a ready-to-use kit, and the LED and one-handed bit changes keep routine work straightforward. The tradeoff is a 1.3 Ah battery, which may call for more frequent charging during sustained use. Unlike the Craftsman V20 drill-and-driver set, this is a focused fastening purchase; it does not add a drill for hole-making.
Pros:- Listed 2.5-pound weight favors overhead and mobile work
- 1,460 in-lb torque and 2,800 rpm suit demanding fastening tasks
- Battery and charger are included
- LED work light and one-handed bit changes ease common tasks
Cons:- 1.3 Ah battery capacity may limit runtime on sustained jobs
- No additional speed settings are specified
- Driver-only kit does not provide the drilling versatility of the Craftsman V20 combo
Best for: DIYers who prioritize a lighter driver for overhead work, furniture assembly, and routine fastening, and need a battery and charger included
Not ideal for: Buyers planning extended high-demand work between charges or seeking one kit that includes a drill for drilling holes
- Voltage:20 volts
- Maximum torque:1,460 in-lb
- Maximum speed:2,800 rpm
- Chuck size:1/4 inch
- Weight:2.5 pounds
- Battery capacity:1.3 Ah
- Battery type:Lithium-ion
- Included:Battery and charger
Our verdict“Choose this kit if low weight and straightforward fastening matter more than extended battery runtime or having a drill included.”

How We Picked
I compared these 13 cordless impact drivers on the factors that change the buying decision: fastening performance, speed control, motor type, handling, and kit completeness. I also looked at whether each model is a bare tool or includes batteries and a charger, since that changes its usefulness for someone who is new to a battery platform. A driver suited to repetitive, demanding fastening ranks ahead of a basic kit only when its extra capability has a clear use; an included battery can make a simpler model the better starting point for occasional home repairs.
The ranking separates tools by role rather than treating every impact driver as interchangeable. I gave preference to options with useful control or a clear performance advantage, then weighed portability, included accessories, and platform flexibility. The DEWALT DCF845B ranks highest as a versatile brushless choice; the DCF870B is set apart by its hydraulic mechanism, while kit bundles and combo sets earn their place for buyers who need a complete setup. Models with less information about control features or a more specialized fit rank lower, not because they cannot drive screws, but because the lineup offers clearer alternatives for many buyers.
Factors to Consider When Choosing Cordless Impact Drivers
Choosing among cordless impact drivers is less about chasing the biggest torque claim and more about matching the tool to the fasteners, materials, and work rhythm you expect. I’d start with your existing battery platform, then weigh control, comfort, kit contents, and how often the tool will be used.
Match the Driver to the Fasteners You Actually Use
Impact drivers are especially useful for driving long screws and other fasteners that can bog down a conventional drill, but they are not the right answer for every hole or screw. Small cabinet hardware and delicate trim call for a light touch, while structural screws and repeated fastening benefit from impact action. A common mistake is choosing on maximum torque claims alone, then finding the tool hard to control on smaller work. Look for speed settings or modes if your projects shift between delicate and demanding tasks. For routine drilling, a drill-driver with a clutch can offer better control than an impact driver. A combo kit can make sense if you need both tools rather than expecting one driver to handle everything.
Treat Speed Control as a Practical Feature
Speed settings help manage how quickly a fastener enters the material, which can reduce stripped heads and overdriven screws. They are especially useful when one tool has to move between softwood, dense material, and small fasteners. A single-speed tool can still be a sensible choice for basic construction or occasional repairs, but it asks the user to regulate more with trigger pressure. More settings do not automatically make a driver better if the controls are awkward or the tool is used for one repetitive task. For mixed projects, compare how the driver offers control, not just its top speed. When working near finished surfaces, practice on scrap material before committing to the workpiece.
Check Battery Platform Before Comparing Bare-Tool Options
A bare tool is only a straightforward buy when you already own compatible batteries and a charger. Otherwise, the added cost and inconvenience of building a battery platform can outweigh the appeal of the tool itself. Battery compatibility is brand- and platform-specific, so matching voltage labels alone is not enough. If you are starting from scratch, compare complete kits by the included battery capacity, charger, and whether other tools you may buy use the same system. Two-battery bundles suit longer sessions because one battery can be charging while the other is in use. For occasional jobs, a compact starter kit may be more useful than a bare tool with stronger specifications.
Choose Brushless for Repeated Work, Not as a Status Symbol
Brushless motors are most attractive when the driver will see frequent or demanding use, where efficiency and sustained performance can matter across a workday. For a few household repairs each year, a brushed model may cover the task without paying for capabilities that remain unused. Brushless construction also does not tell you whether a tool has good speed control, comfortable balance, or a useful kit. Compare the whole package rather than treating the motor type as a shortcut to the right choice. A heavier-duty driver can feel tiring during overhead work, even if it has more capability. Think about how long you hold the tool and how often you drive fasteners before prioritizing motor design.
Weigh Noise, Feel, and Jobsite Conditions
Traditional impact drivers produce sharp, repetitive impacts that can be loud and tiring in enclosed spaces. A hydraulic impact mechanism can offer a smoother, quieter character, which may suit indoor work or noise-sensitive settings, though it is a distinct design tradeoff rather than a universal performance upgrade. If you work around occupants or in a shared building, noise may matter almost as much as fastening speed. Consider the grip, balance, and head length as well: a compact tool can reach tighter spaces and reduce fatigue, but may not provide the same feature set as a larger model. Check whether the work area needs illumination and whether the tool’s light placement can reach the fastener. Hearing protection remains sensible with impact tools, including quieter designs.
Do Not Confuse Impact Drivers With Impact Wrenches
These products use a 1/4-inch hex collet and are built mainly around driving bits and fasteners. An impact wrench usually has a square drive for sockets and is designed for tasks such as lug nuts and larger fasteners. Adapters can let an impact driver use sockets, but that does not turn it into a suitable replacement for an impact wrench on high-load automotive work. Buyers sometimes choose an impact driver because both tools have “impact” in the name, then discover the drive type and intended jobs differ. Match the tool to the attachment and fastener before buying. If your main task involves vehicle wheels or large nuts, shop for an impact wrench instead.
Frequently Asked Questions
Should I buy a bare impact driver or a kit?
I’d choose a bare tool only if I already own a compatible battery and charger for that exact platform. For a first cordless tool, a kit can be the simpler purchase because it includes the parts needed to start working and may establish a battery system for future tools. Check the battery capacity and charger rather than treating every kit as equally complete. If you expect long work sessions, a second battery can prevent charging downtime. For occasional repairs, a single-battery kit may be enough.
Is a hydraulic impact driver a better choice for indoor work?
It can be a better fit when a smoother, quieter operating character matters, especially in occupied or noise-sensitive spaces. That does not mean it is automatically the strongest choice for every fastening task or the best replacement for a conventional impact driver. Compare its intended performance with the materials and fasteners you use most. If you need one tool for varied work, speed control and platform compatibility may matter more than noise alone. Hearing protection is still sensible when using any impact tool for extended periods.
Do I need a brushless impact driver for home repairs?
Not necessarily. Brushless models make the most sense when the tool will see frequent use, repeated fastening, or longer work sessions where efficiency matters. For occasional assembly and household fixes, a simpler driver with a battery and charger may meet your needs. Pay attention to control and comfort as well; brushless construction alone does not prevent stripped screws or make a tool pleasant to use overhead. If you expect your workload to grow, a brushless model can be a more durable platform investment.
Can I use an impact driver instead of a drill?
An impact driver can handle some drilling tasks with compatible hex-shank bits, but it is not a full substitute for a drill-driver. Its impact action is designed around driving fasteners, while a drill’s clutch and smooth rotation offer better control for many holes and delicate tasks. For a home workshop with varied needs, a drill-and-driver combo covers more ground than either tool alone. If you mainly drive screws, an impact driver may be the tool you reach for most. For regular drilling in wood, metal, or masonry, choose a dedicated drill suited to the material.
When is a two-tool drill and impact driver combo worth buying?
A combo is worthwhile when you regularly switch between drilling pilot holes and driving fasteners. Keeping a bit in the drill and a driver bit in the impact tool saves repeated bit changes, which is useful during decking, shelving, or general renovation work. It also gives beginners a better sense of which tool suits each task. If your projects mostly involve driving screws, the second tool may add bulk and cost without much benefit. Check that both tools use the same battery platform and that the set includes enough batteries for the way you work.
Conclusion
For the broadest mix of control and brushless performance, I’d choose the DEWALT DCF845B as best overall. Buyers who want a smoother, quieter fastening option should look at the DEWALT DCF870B, while the CRAFTSMAN V20 Brushless RP kit is my best beginner-friendly pick for someone who wants a compact tool with a battery and charger included. For value, I’d compare the bundled BLACK+DECKER and Craftsman kits against the buyer’s existing battery platform rather than assuming the lowest-cost-looking bundle is the best fit. The DEWALT DCF860B suits buyers already on the 20V MAX platform who want a brushless bare tool, while the drill-and-impact-driver sets make more sense for new users who need both functions. Choose by workload and kit needs first; extra power is useful only when your jobs call for it.















