The best cordless power tools for most buyers are the DEWALT 20V MAX 9-Tool Combo Kit, which covers a wide range of jobs with one battery platform. For a smaller, more manageable setup, the Bosch 12V drill kit stands out for everyday drilling, while Greenworks offers a broad six-tool lineup with useful charging extras. The main tradeoff is between buying a compact kit for immediate needs and paying for a larger collection that may include tools you rarely use. Battery capacity, tool mix, and compatibility with future additions matter as much as the number of pieces. Read on for the full breakdown and recommendations by buyer type.
Get business pricing on tools and workshop supplies
- Business-only prices and quantity discounts
- Tax-exempt purchasing
- Multiple users, one account, clear invoices
Complete the kit
Key Takeaways
- The DEWALT 9-Tool kit is the broadest all-round starting point in this group, though its two 2.0Ah batteries may feel limited during extended work.
- Greenworks and RYOBI offer six-tool entry points, but the included tool mix and battery ecosystem should drive the choice more than tool count alone.
- Bosch’s 12V drill kit favors portability over breadth; it suits lighter drilling and fastening but cannot replace a multi-tool kit.
- DEWALT’s 3-tool brushless set trades tool quantity for a more focused setup and three batteries, which may better suit frequent users than a larger basic kit.
- The standalone DEWALT circular saw is a specialist purchase, not a complete cordless setup, because it ships without a battery.
| DEWALT 20V MAX Cordless Drill and Impact Driver Combo Kit (DCK240C2) | ![]() | Best Overall Drill-and-Driver Pair | Voltage: 20 volts | Battery type: Lithium-ion | Batteries included: 2 | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Bosch PS31-2A 12V Max 3/8-Inch Drill/Driver Kit with Two Batteries and Charger | ![]() | Best Compact Drill for Beginners | Voltage: 12 V | Battery capacity: 2 Ah | Batteries included: 2 | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Greenworks 24V 6-Tool Combo Kit with 4.0Ah and 2.0Ah Batteries, USB-C Power Bank, Cables, and 65W Charger | ![]() | Best Six-Tool Starter Platform | Voltage: 24V | Included tools: Drill, impact driver, circular saw, reciprocating saw, multi-tool, flashlight | Batteries: 2.0Ah and 4.0Ah | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| DEWALT 20V MAX 9-Tool Cordless Combo Kit with Two 2.0Ah Batteries and Charger (DCK940D2) | ![]() | Best for a Broad Workshop Setup | Voltage: 20 volts | Number of tools: 9 | Batteries included: Two 2.0Ah lithium-ion batteries | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| DEWALT 20V MAX Brushless 3-Tool Power Tool Set with 3 Batteries and Charger | ![]() | Best Brushless Core Kit | Voltage: 20 volts | Motor type: Brushless | Drill driver: 1/2-inch DCD777, 340 unit watts out | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| RYOBI P1819 18V ONE+ 6-Tool Lithium-Ion Combo Kit | ![]() | Best for Broad DIY Coverage | Voltage: 18V | Battery type: Lithium-ion | Batteries included: 4.0Ah and 1.5Ah | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| DEWALT 20V MAX Cordless Drill and Impact Driver Combo Kit (DCK277D2) | ![]() | Best Compact Two-Tool Kit | Voltage: 20V MAX | Battery type: Lithium-ion | Batteries included: Two 2.0Ah batteries | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| CRAFTSMAN V20 4-Tool Cordless Combo Kit | ![]() | Best for a Compact Cutting Starter Set | Voltage: 20V | Battery type: Lithium-ion | Batteries included: Two 2.0Ah batteries | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| DEWALT 20V MAX Drill/Driver and Circular Saw Combo Kit (DCK252D2) | ![]() | Best for Drill-and-Saw Priorities | Voltage: 20V MAX | Battery type: Not specified | Listed batteries: Two 20V MAX 2Ah batteries; product information gives conflicting battery-count details | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| DEWALT 20V MAX 5-Tool Cordless Combo Kit (DCK551D1M1) | ![]() | Best Multi-Tool DEWALT Kit | Voltage: 20V | Included tools: Drill/driver, impact driver, reciprocating saw, circular saw, oscillating multi-tool | Batteries included: One 2.0Ah and one 4.0Ah lithium-ion battery | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| CRAFTSMAN V20 7-Tool Cordless Power Tool Combo Kit with 2 Batteries and Charger (CMCK700D2) | ![]() | Best Value for a Broad Starter Set | Platform: CRAFTSMAN V20, 20V MAX | Included tools: Drill/driver, impact driver, reciprocating saw, circular saw, oscillating tool, grinder, pivoting LED task light | Batteries: 2 × 2.0Ah lithium-ion | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| DEWALT 20V MAX 10-Tool Cordless Power Tool Combo Kit | ![]() | Best for Maximum Tool Variety | Model: DCK1021D2 | Platform: DEWALT 20V MAX | Included tools: Drill/driver, impact driver, reciprocating saw, work light, circular saw, cut-off tool, Bluetooth speaker, wet/dry vacuum, jobsite blower, oscillating multi-tool | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| DEWALT 20V MAX 6-1/2-Inch Cordless Circular Saw (DCS391B), Battery Not Included | ![]() | Best Standalone Circular Saw | Model: DCS391B | Platform: DEWALT 20V MAX | Motor speed: 5,150 RPM | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| DEWALT 20V MAX 7-Tool Cordless Combo Kit with 5Ah Battery and Charger (DCK751P1) | ![]() | Best for Higher Battery Capacity | Platform: DEWALT 20V MAX | Included tools: Drill, impact driver, reciprocating saw, circular saw, oscillating tool, random orbital sander, jigsaw | Battery: 1 × 5Ah | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX 4-Tool Cordless Power Tool Combo Kit | ![]() | Best for Basic Home Projects | Platform: BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX | Included tools: Drill/driver, circular saw, reciprocating saw, work light | Batteries: 2 lithium-ion batteries | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| cordless power tool | Voltage | Warranty | Included tools | Batteries included |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| DEWALT 20V MAX Cordless Drill | 20 volts | 3-year limited warranty | — | 2 |
| Bosch PS31-2A 12V Max 3/8-Inch | 12 V | — | — | 2 |
| Greenworks 24V 6-Tool Combo Ki | 24V | 3-year limited warranty | Drill, impact driver, circular saw, reciprocating saw, multi-tool, flashlight | — |
| DEWALT 20V MAX 9-Tool Cordless | 20 volts | 3-year limited warranty | — | Two 2.0Ah lithium-ion batteries |
| DEWALT 20V MAX Brushless 3-Too | 20 volts | 3-year limited warranty | — | Three 2Ah 20V MAX lithium-ion batteries |
| RYOBI P1819 18V ONE+ 6-Tool Li | 18V | — | Drill/driver, impact driver, reciprocating saw, circular saw, multi-tool, LED worklight | 4.0Ah and 1.5Ah |
| DEWALT 20V MAX Cordless Drill | 20V MAX | 3-year limited | DCD777 1/2-inch drill/driver and DCF787 1/4-inch impact driver | Two 2.0Ah batteries |
| CRAFTSMAN V20 4-Tool Cordless | 20V | 3-year limited | Drill/driver, impact driver, circular saw, pivoting LED task light | Two 2.0Ah batteries |
| DEWALT 20V MAX Drill/Driver an | 20V MAX | — | — | — |
| DEWALT 20V MAX 5-Tool Cordless | 20V | — | Drill/driver, impact driver, reciprocating saw, circular saw, oscillating multi-tool | One 2.0Ah and one 4.0Ah lithium-ion battery |
| CRAFTSMAN V20 7-Tool Cordless | — | 3-year limited | Drill/driver, impact driver, reciprocating saw, circular saw, oscillating tool, grinder, pivoting LED task light | — |
| DEWALT 20V MAX 10-Tool Cordles | — | — | Drill/driver, impact driver, reciprocating saw, work light, circular saw, cut-off tool, Bluetooth speaker, wet/dry vacuum, jobsite blower, oscillating multi-tool | — |
| DEWALT 20V MAX 6-1/2-Inch Cord | — | 3-year limited | — | — |
| DEWALT 20V MAX 7-Tool Cordless | — | — | Drill, impact driver, reciprocating saw, circular saw, oscillating tool, random orbital sander, jigsaw | — |
| BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX 4-Tool Co | — | 2-year limited | Drill/driver, circular saw, reciprocating saw, work light | — |
More Details on Our Top Picks
DEWALT 20V MAX Cordless Drill and Impact Driver Combo Kit (DCK240C2)
I’d pick the DCK240C2 for buyers who want the two tools most likely to handle everyday drilling and fastening without carrying a large kit. Its drill and impact driver are designed for tight-space work, and both include LED lights; the impact driver also accepts bits one-handed, which can speed up repeated screw changes. Two batteries let one tool remain ready while the other is in use. Compared with the Bosch PS31-2A, this set offers an impact driver and a 20V platform rather than a smaller 12V drill-only setup, making it more adaptable for heavier fastening. The tradeoff is less range than the Greenworks six-tool kit or DEWALT’s nine-tool set: there’s no saw or multi-tool, and the listed 1,500 rpm maximum speed may not suit buyers prioritizing faster drilling.
Pros:- Pairs a drill/driver with an impact driver for a broader range of fastening jobs
- Compact designs and LED work lights suit cramped or dim work areas
- Includes two lithium-ion batteries, a charger, and a storage bag
- Impact driver supports one-handed bit loading
Cons:- Does not include saws or other specialty tools found in the larger Greenworks and DEWALT kits
- The listed 1,500 rpm maximum speed may be limiting for buyers seeking faster drilling
- The 3.6-pound listed weight may not represent the full kit or both tools
Best for: Homeowners and maintenance workers who need a compact drill-and-impact-driver pair for repairs, cabinetry, and routine fastening.
Not ideal for: Buyers outfitting a workshop with saws and specialty tools, or those who need a stated high-speed drill setting for frequent fast drilling.
- Voltage:20 volts
- Battery type:Lithium-ion
- Batteries included:2
- Drill/driver torque:1,700 in-lb
- Impact driver torque:Up to 1,400 in-lb
- Maximum rotational speed:1,500 rpm
- Included components:Drill/driver, impact driver, two batteries, charger, contractor bag
- Warranty:3-year limited warranty
Our verdict“Choose this DEWALT set for a compact, practical drill-and-impact-driver foundation, but pick a larger kit if you need cutting tools too.”
Bosch PS31-2A 12V Max 3/8-Inch Drill/Driver Kit with Two Batteries and Charger
The Bosch PS31-2A makes sense when a manageable drill matters more than a full cordless tool collection. At 3 pounds and just 7 inches long, it is suited to overhead tasks, furniture assembly, and work in narrow cabinets. Two speed settings and 20+1 clutch positions help users match the tool to drilling or screw driving, while the fuel gauge gives a quick read on remaining battery power. Compared with the DEWALT DCK240C2, Bosch is lighter and more compact, but it lacks a separate impact driver and uses a 12V platform. That puts a ceiling on its usefulness for repeated heavy fastening or large-hole drilling. Its 3/8-inch chuck also accommodates fewer large bits than a 1/2-inch chuck, so this is a focused starter drill rather than a one-kit workshop solution.
Pros:- Compact 7-inch body and 3-pound weight suit overhead and confined-space work
- Two speed settings support both screw driving and drilling
- 20+1 clutch settings help control screw depth across different materials
- Two batteries, charger, LED light, and fuel gauge are included
Cons:- 12V output is less suited to sustained heavy-duty drilling than the 20V DEWALT kits
- 3/8-inch chuck limits compatibility with larger bits
- Includes a drill/driver only, unlike the drill-and-impact-driver DEWALT DCK240C2
Best for: First-time tool owners, apartment dwellers, and DIYers who do frequent light drilling or assembly and value low weight.
Not ideal for: Users regularly driving long fasteners, drilling large holes, or looking for an impact driver and broader tool selection in one purchase.
- Voltage:12 V
- Battery capacity:2 Ah
- Batteries included:2
- Maximum torque:265 in-lb
- Speed settings:0–350 rpm and 0–1,300 rpm
- Clutch settings:20+1
- Chuck size:3/8 in
- Weight:3 lb
- Dimensions:7 × 2.5 × 4 in
Our verdict“Pick the Bosch for light-duty jobs where compact handling matters more than impact-driver power or a larger chuck.”
Greenworks 24V 6-Tool Combo Kit with 4.0Ah and 2.0Ah Batteries, USB-C Power Bank, Cables, and 65W Charger
For someone building a cordless setup from scratch, the Greenworks 24V kit covers more job types at once than the drill-and-driver DEWALT DCK240C2: it includes a drill, impact driver, circular saw, reciprocating saw, multi-tool, and flashlight. Brushless motors on several tools and a 65W rapid charger add practical appeal for project days that involve more than fastening. The 4.0Ah and 2.0Ah batteries provide different capacity options, and the USB-C input/output feature lets a compatible battery serve as a device power bank. Its platform is listed as compatible with more than 150 Greenworks tools, giving buyers room to expand. Compared with DEWALT’s nine-tool kit, it has fewer tools, but its battery capacity mix and USB-C function are distinctive. One detail needs clarification: the power-bank capacity is listed inconsistently as 24,000mAh and 12,000mAh.
Pros:- Six tools cover drilling, fastening, cutting, oscillating, and lighting tasks
- Includes both 2.0Ah and 4.0Ah batteries plus a 65W rapid charger
- Several tools use brushless motors
- Compatible batteries can power USB-C devices and work with more than 150 Greenworks tools
Cons:- Power-bank capacity is inconsistent in the supplied product details
- Six tools provide less breadth than the nine-tool DEWALT DCK940D2 kit
- Only two batteries are included for a kit spanning six tools
Best for: DIYers starting a multi-tool collection who want cutting, fastening, and oscillating tools on one 24V battery platform.
Not ideal for: Buyers who need a clearly specified USB-C power-bank capacity or prefer a more established 20V MAX lineup with a larger included tool count.
- Voltage:24V
- Included tools:Drill, impact driver, circular saw, reciprocating saw, multi-tool, flashlight
- Batteries:2.0Ah and 4.0Ah
- Charger:65W rapid charger
- Drill torque:400 in-lb
- Impact driver torque:1,950 in-lb
- Circular saw blade:6.5 in., 24-tooth carbide-tipped
- Reciprocating saw speed:Up to 3,000 SPM
- Warranty:3-year limited warranty
Our verdict“Choose Greenworks if broad task coverage and a flexible battery platform matter more than a fully consistent power-bank specification.”
DEWALT 20V MAX 9-Tool Cordless Combo Kit with Two 2.0Ah Batteries and Charger (DCK940D2)
The DEWALT DCK940D2 is the pick for buyers who want a wide range of cordless tools at once: nine pieces cover drilling, fastening, sawing, grinding, oscillating, lighting, and even audio. A right-angle drill adds access in tight framing or cabinet spaces, while the circular saw and grinder extend the kit well beyond basic home repairs. Compared with the six-tool Greenworks set, DEWALT supplies more tools, including a grinder and Bluetooth speaker; the Greenworks kit, however, lists a larger 4.0Ah battery alongside its 2.0Ah pack. Here, the two 2.0Ah batteries may need frequent rotation during sustained cutting or grinding, and carrying nine tools is less convenient than choosing a focused set such as the DCK240C2. This is breadth-first equipment, not a lightweight starter bundle.
Pros:- Nine tools cover drilling, fastening, cutting, grinding, oscillating, and lighting
- Right-angle drill adds access where a standard drill may not fit
- Includes two batteries, charger, tool bag, and selected accessories
- Bluetooth speaker adds a distinct workshop convenience
Cons:- Two 2.0Ah batteries may limit runtime during demanding work
- Nine tools make the kit bulky to store and transport
- More equipment than needed for buyers seeking only a drill-and-driver pair
Best for: Home renovators and property maintenance crews who need several cordless tool types available for varied jobs.
Not ideal for: Occasional DIYers who want a compact kit, or users doing long cutting and grinding sessions who need more included battery capacity.
- Voltage:20 volts
- Number of tools:9
- Batteries included:Two 2.0Ah lithium-ion batteries
- Drill driver output:300 UWO
- Circular saw blade:6-1/2-inch carbide
- Work light output:110 lumens
- Grinder size and speed:4-1/2 inches; 7,000 rpm
- Right-angle drill speed:0–650 / 0–2,000 rpm
- Warranty:3-year limited warranty
Our verdict“Choose this DEWALT kit when tool variety is the priority, but opt for a smaller set if portability or longer battery runtime matters more.”
DEWALT 20V MAX Brushless 3-Tool Power Tool Set with 3 Batteries and Charger
This three-tool DEWALT set centers on a brushless drill, impact driver, and oscillating multi-tool, giving buyers a more focused lineup than the nine-tool DCK940D2. The drill’s 1/2-inch chuck accommodates a broad range of common bits, while the impact driver is listed at 1,500 in-lb of torque. A three-speed-selector oscillating tool adds trimming and detail-work capability without requiring a separate corded machine. The clearest advantage over the DCK240C2 is the brushless motor specification and the third tool; the DCK240C2, by comparison, is a simpler two-tool set with a storage bag listed among its contents. Three 2Ah batteries provide useful rotation, but each pack has modest capacity, so extended cutting or sanding may call for battery changes. The supplied details also omit specific drawbacks beyond that capacity concern.
Pros:- Brushless motors are specified for all three included tools
- Combines a 1/2-inch drill, impact driver, and oscillating multi-tool
- Three 2Ah batteries and a charger are included
- Oscillating tool offers a 3-speed selector
Cons:- All three batteries are 2Ah, which may mean frequent swaps during extended work
- Does not include a circular saw or reciprocating saw like the Greenworks six-tool kit
- Supplied product details give limited information about included accessories
Best for: DIY renovators and tradespeople who want a brushless drill-and-impact-driver pairing plus an oscillating tool for trim and repair work.
Not ideal for: Buyers needing saws, a larger collection of specialty tools, or higher-capacity batteries for prolonged demanding tasks.
- Voltage:20 volts
- Motor type:Brushless
- Drill driver:1/2-inch DCD777, 340 unit watts out
- Impact driver:1/4-inch DCF787, 1,500 in-lb torque
- Oscillating multi-tool:DCS356, 3-speed selector
- Batteries included:Three 2Ah 20V MAX lithium-ion batteries
- Charger:Included
- Item weight:11.4 pounds
- Warranty:3-year limited warranty
Our verdict“Pick this set for a brushless drilling and fastening core with an oscillating tool, but choose a broader kit if you need saws or specialty equipment.”
RYOBI P1819 18V ONE+ 6-Tool Lithium-Ion Combo Kit
I’d choose the RYOBI P1819 when having a tool ready for different kinds of household and workshop jobs matters more than keeping the kit compact. Its six tools cover drilling, fastening, cutting, detail work, and lighting, while the two included batteries let one charge while the other is in use. The 4.0Ah battery is a useful reserve for longer tasks; the 1.5Ah pack keeps a second battery available without matching that runtime.
Compared with the DEWALT DCK277D2, this kit gives up some portability in exchange for a reciprocating saw, circular saw, and multi-tool. Its ONE+ battery compatibility also makes sense for buyers already building a RYOBI collection. The tradeoff is limited performance information for several included tools, so buyers who need precise saw capabilities should favor a kit with fuller tool specifications.
Pros:- Six tools cover a wider range of tasks than the two-tool DEWALT DCK277D2 kit
- Includes both a 4.0Ah and a 1.5Ah battery, plus charger and carrying bag
- ONE+ compatibility gives existing RYOBI 18V battery owners more ways to use their packs
- Impact driver is specified at up to 1,800 in-lbs of torque
Cons:- The two included batteries have substantially different capacities
- Performance details are missing for several included tools
- The six-tool lineup is less compact to store and carry than a drill-and-driver combo
Best for: DIY homeowners who want one starter kit for drilling, fastening, basic cutting, and occasional detail work, especially those already using RYOBI ONE+ batteries.
Not ideal for: Buyers choosing tools for frequent demanding cuts or who need detailed performance specifications for every saw and accessory; the product information does not provide them.
- Voltage:18V
- Battery type:Lithium-ion
- Batteries included:4.0Ah and 1.5Ah
- Included tools:Drill/driver, impact driver, reciprocating saw, circular saw, multi-tool, LED worklight
- Drill/driver torque:Up to 500 in-lbs
- Impact driver torque:Up to 1,800 in-lbs
- Impact driver impact rate:Up to 3,200 IPM
- Circular saw depth of cut:Up to 1-9/16 in.
- Included accessories:Charger, bag, and accessories
Our verdict“Choose the P1819 for broad DIY coverage and ONE+ compatibility, but look elsewhere if you need detailed specs or a lighter kit.”
DEWALT 20V MAX Cordless Drill and Impact Driver Combo Kit (DCK277D2)
For drilling and fastening without carrying tools you may rarely use, I’d favor the DEWALT DCK277D2. The kit pairs a 1/2-inch drill/driver with a 1/4-inch impact driver, and its lightweight design and ergonomic grips suit overhead work and tighter spaces better than larger multi-tool bundles such as the RYOBI P1819. The impact driver’s stated 1,500 in-lbs of torque is aimed at everyday fastening, while variable-speed control helps tailor the tools to the task.
Two 2.0Ah batteries, a charger, and a contractor bag make this a focused grab-and-go set, and the LED’s 20-second delay can keep a work area lit after the trigger is released. The tradeoff is scope: unlike the CRAFTSMAN V20 4-Tool Kit, it includes no saw or task light. Its smaller-capacity batteries may also mean more frequent swaps during extended work.
Pros:- Drill/driver and impact driver cover the most common drilling and fastening tasks
- Lightweight tools and ergonomic grips suit confined spaces and overhead work
- Impact driver delivers up to 1,500 in-lbs of torque
- Includes two batteries, charger, contractor bag, and an LED with a 20-second delay
Cons:- No saw, multi-tool, or separate worklight is included
- Both batteries are 2.0Ah, limiting capacity for longer jobs
- A two-tool set offers less task coverage than the CRAFTSMAN V20 4-Tool Kit
Best for: Homeowners, installers, and maintenance workers who mainly drill holes and drive fasteners, and who value a manageable kit for tight or overhead work.
Not ideal for: Buyers who need cutting tools in the same purchase or expect long stretches of work without battery changes; this kit has only two tools and two 2.0Ah batteries.
- Voltage:20V MAX
- Battery type:Lithium-ion
- Batteries included:Two 2.0Ah batteries
- Included tools:DCD777 1/2-inch drill/driver and DCF787 1/4-inch impact driver
- Impact driver torque:Up to 1,500 in-lbs
- Maximum rotational speed:Up to 2,800 rpm
- Item weight:7.9 lb
- Included components:Two batteries, charger, and contractor bag
- Warranty:3-year limited
Our verdict“Pick this DEWALT kit for portable drilling and fastening, not as an all-in-one set for cutting or broader renovation work.”
CRAFTSMAN V20 4-Tool Cordless Combo Kit
The CRAFTSMAN V20 4-Tool Kit is a practical middle ground for buyers who want a saw alongside their drill and impact driver, but don’t need the six-tool spread of the RYOBI P1819. Its 6.5-inch circular saw reaches 4,200 RPM and has tool-free bevel adjustment, giving DIYers a way to handle common straight and angled cuts without adding a separate saw purchase. The two-speed drill/driver offers a slower setting for control and a faster one for quicker drilling.
Compared with the DEWALT DCK277D2, this CRAFTSMAN adds a circular saw and pivoting task light, making it more useful for small renovation projects. That extra coverage comes with a capacity tradeoff: both batteries are 2.0Ah, and the 6.5-inch blade is smaller than larger saw formats. The drill’s 280 UWO rating also describes power differently from the torque figures listed for some rival kits.
Pros:- Four tools add a circular saw and pivoting task light to the basic drill-and-driver pairing
- Two-speed drill/driver supports more controlled work as well as faster drilling
- Circular saw runs at 4,200 RPM and includes tool-free beveling and a spindle lock
- Includes two batteries and a 3-year limited warranty
Cons:- Both included batteries are 2.0Ah, which can limit runtime on saw-heavy jobs
- The 6.5-inch blade may not suit buyers who need a larger cutting capacity
- The 280 UWO drill rating is not directly comparable to the in-lb torque figures listed for other kits
Best for: First-time DIYers and homeowners who want a drill, impact driver, circular saw, and task light for common repair and small-project work.
Not ideal for: Buyers planning long cutting sessions or frequent deeper cuts; the kit includes two 2.0Ah batteries and a 6.5-inch saw blade.
- Voltage:20V
- Battery type:Lithium-ion
- Batteries included:Two 2.0Ah batteries
- Included tools:Drill/driver, impact driver, circular saw, pivoting LED task light
- Drill/driver power:280 UWO
- Drill/driver speeds:0–400 RPM and 0–1,500 RPM
- Impact driver torque:1,460 in-lbs
- Circular saw:6.5-inch blade; 4,200 RPM
- Warranty:3-year limited
Our verdict“Choose this CRAFTSMAN set for an accessible drill-and-saw combination, but plan for battery swaps on sustained cutting work.”
DEWALT 20V MAX Drill/Driver and Circular Saw Combo Kit (DCK252D2)
I’d shortlist the DEWALT DCK252D2 for buyers whose regular jobs call for drilling and board cutting, rather than impact fastening or a large collection of tools. It pairs a compact brushless drill/driver with a 6½-inch circular saw, so the drill is suited to confined work while the saw adds a direct route to common crosscuts and bevel cuts. Its stated 0–50° bevel capacity gives it more angle range than a kit that lists no bevel specification, such as the RYOBI P1819.
Against the CRAFTSMAN V20 4-Tool Kit, this DEWALT has one fewer tool and omits an impact driver and task light, but it puts the drill-and-saw pairing at the center. Two 2Ah batteries keep the kit portable, though they may call for frequent swaps during extended sawing. The supplied information also conflicts on battery count, so I’d confirm the package contents before buying.
Pros:- Brushless compact drill is designed for demanding work and tighter spaces
- 6½-inch circular saw supports bevel cuts from 0° to 50°
- Includes two 20V MAX batteries, charger, and work bag
- Focused drill-and-saw pairing avoids the extra tools in broader kits such as the CRAFTSMAN V20 4-Tool Kit
Cons:- Two 2Ah batteries may require frequent changes during sustained cutting
- Does not include an impact driver or task light
- Product information gives conflicting battery-count details
Best for: DIYers and remodelers who mostly drill and make circular-saw cuts, especially those who need a compact drill and bevel-cut capability.
Not ideal for: Buyers who need an impact driver, worklight, or higher-capacity batteries in the same kit, or who want battery-count details stated consistently.
- Voltage:20V MAX
- Battery type:Not specified
- Listed batteries:Two 20V MAX 2Ah batteries; product information gives conflicting battery-count details
- Drill/driver:DCD777 brushless compact drill/driver
- Circular saw:DCS391, 6½-inch blade
- Saw bevel capacity:0–50°
- Charger:DCB107
- Item weight:12.8 lb
- Included components:Drill/driver, circular saw, batteries, charger, and work bag
Our verdict“Choose this kit if a compact drill and bevel-capable circular saw match your work, but verify the included battery count and expect modest battery capacity.”
DEWALT 20V MAX 5-Tool Cordless Combo Kit (DCK551D1M1)
For buyers who want a broad cordless set without moving up to a nine- or ten-tool bundle, I’d look at the DEWALT DCK551D1M1. It includes five tools for drilling, fastening, cutting, and detail work, including a brushless oscillating multi-tool that the smaller DCK277D2 and the drill-and-saw DCK252D2 do not provide. The circular saw is specified to cut a 2×4 at 45 degrees in one pass, a useful capability for angled framing cuts.
The included 2.0Ah and 4.0Ah batteries give buyers a small pack for lighter tasks and a higher-capacity option for longer work. Compared with the RYOBI P1819, this DEWALT kit has one fewer tool but offers the described brushless multi-tool and a clear 45-degree cutting claim. Its listed 25-pound kit weight is a drawback for frequent transport, and the tool details provided are less complete than those for some focused kits.
Pros:- Five tools cover drilling, fastening, reciprocating cuts, circular cuts, and oscillating detail work
- Includes a brushless oscillating multi-tool
- Comes with both 2.0Ah and 4.0Ah batteries, plus charger and kit bag
- Circular saw is specified to cut a 2×4 at a 45-degree angle in one pass
Cons:- Listed kit weight is 25 lb, making it less convenient to carry than the two-tool DEWALT DCK277D2
- Several included tools lack detailed performance specifications in the supplied product data
- The two battery capacities differ, so runtime depends on which pack is in use
Best for: Home renovators and serious DIYers who want drill, impact driver, two saw types, and an oscillating multi-tool in one DEWALT kit.
Not ideal for: Buyers who need a lightweight kit to carry between jobs or who want detailed performance specifications for each included tool.
- Voltage:20V
- Included tools:Drill/driver, impact driver, reciprocating saw, circular saw, oscillating multi-tool
- Batteries included:One 2.0Ah and one 4.0Ah lithium-ion battery
- Drill speeds:0–450 RPM and up to 1,500 RPM
- Maximum rotational speed:1,500 RPM
- Circular saw capability:Can cut a 2×4 at a 45-degree angle in one pass
- Item weight:25 lb
- Included components:Five tools, two batteries, charger, and kit bag
Our verdict“Pick the DCK551D1M1 for a wide range of renovation tasks in one DEWALT set, but skip it if portability is a priority.”
CRAFTSMAN V20 7-Tool Cordless Power Tool Combo Kit with 2 Batteries and Charger (CMCK700D2)
I’d choose this CRAFTSMAN kit when one purchase needs to cover drilling, fastening, cutting, grinding, and detail work. Its seven tools include both a circular saw and an oscillating tool, while the two batteries let a user keep one charging during work. The 1,460 in-lb impact driver and 280 UWO drill cover common assembly and repair jobs, though the compact 2.0Ah batteries can mean more frequent swaps during demanding cutting or grinding. Compared with the DEWALT 20V MAX 7-Tool Kit, this set includes two batteries rather than one, but the DEWALT listing specifies a larger 5Ah pack and adds a jigsaw and random orbital sander. I’d favor CRAFTSMAN for tool variety and battery rotation, not for longer single-battery runtime.
Pros:- Seven tools cover drilling, fastening, sawing, grinding, and detail work.
- Two included batteries allow one pack to charge while the other is in use.
- Impact driver is specified at 1,460 in-lb of torque.
- Reciprocating saw has tool-free blade changes.
Cons:- Both included batteries are 2.0Ah, limiting runtime for sustained heavy work.
- The kit does not list individual tool weights, making handling comparisons difficult.
Best for: Homeowners and DIYers who want seven core cordless tools, two batteries, and a charger in one kit for varied repair and renovation tasks.
Not ideal for: People planning long, demanding cuts or extended grinding sessions who would benefit from a higher-capacity battery than the two included 2.0Ah packs.
- Platform:CRAFTSMAN V20, 20V MAX
- Included tools:Drill/driver, impact driver, reciprocating saw, circular saw, oscillating tool, grinder, pivoting LED task light
- Batteries:2 × 2.0Ah lithium-ion
- Drill power:280 UWO
- Impact driver torque:1,460 in-lb
- Circular saw blade:6.5 inches
- Grinder disc:4.5 inches
- Task light output:140 lumens
- Warranty:3-year limited
Our verdict“Choose this kit if you want broad tool coverage and two batteries more than the longer runtime of a larger battery pack.”
DEWALT 20V MAX 10-Tool Cordless Power Tool Combo Kit
This DEWALT kit is the breadth-first choice: its ten tools reach beyond standard drilling and cutting to include a wet/dry vacuum, jobsite blower, and Bluetooth speaker. That mix can reduce the need to buy separate cleanup and site-support tools, and the shared 20V MAX platform connects it with compatible DEWALT batteries and chargers. Compared with the CRAFTSMAN V20 7-Tool Kit, it adds three tools and more jobsite utility, but both kits include only two 2.0Ah batteries. That is a notable limit when several tools are used in succession, especially the vacuum or blower. The listing gives a 1,500 rpm maximum speed and 531 in-lb torque, but does not detail every tool’s performance. I’d pick it for versatility, not for buyers seeking a focused, high-runtime cutting setup.
Pros:- Ten tools span drilling, fastening, cutting, cleanup, lighting, and jobsite audio.
- Compatible with DEWALT 20V MAX batteries and chargers.
- Includes a charger and two contractor bags for storage and transport.
- Wet/dry vacuum and blower add utility beyond the typical combo kit.
Cons:- The two included batteries are compact 2.0Ah packs for a ten-tool set.
- The supplied specs provide limited performance detail for individual tools.
Best for: DEWALT 20V MAX owners, contractors, and hands-on property owners who want a wide mix of tools plus cleanup and jobsite accessories.
Not ideal for: Buyers who need long runtime from a small battery supply or want detailed performance specifications for every included tool.
- Model:DCK1021D2
- Platform:DEWALT 20V MAX
- Included tools:Drill/driver, impact driver, reciprocating saw, work light, circular saw, cut-off tool, Bluetooth speaker, wet/dry vacuum, jobsite blower, oscillating multi-tool
- Batteries:2 × 2.0Ah lithium-ion
- Maximum rotational speed:1,500 rpm
- Torque:531 in-lb
- Included accessories:Charger and 2 contractor bags
- Power source:Battery-powered
Our verdict“Pick this DEWALT set if tool breadth and jobsite utility matter more than having larger-capacity batteries included.”
DEWALT 20V MAX 6-1/2-Inch Cordless Circular Saw (DCS391B), Battery Not Included
For a buyer who already owns DEWALT 20V MAX batteries, this saw is a focused alternative to buying a full combo kit just to make repeat wood cuts. Its 5,150 RPM motor and 6.5-inch blade suit routine sheet and framing work, while the shoe bevels up to 50 degrees for angled cuts. The magnesium shoe helps keep the saw’s structure lighter than a heavier-footed design, and the rubber overmold gives the user a more secure grip. Unlike the DEWALT DCK751P1 seven-tool kit, this is a single-tool purchase with no battery or charger, so it makes sense only when the platform is already in place or those items are budgeted separately. Its listed 3.16 kg weight also means it is not a featherweight option. I’d choose it for saw-specific work, not as a starter cordless setup.
Pros:- 5,150 RPM motor paired with a 6.5-inch blade for wood cutting.
- Bevel adjustment reaches 50 degrees.
- Magnesium shoe and rubber overmolded grip support control and handling.
- Keyless blade change avoids a separate blade-change key.
Cons:- Battery and charger are sold separately.
- At 3.16 kg, it may feel heavy for extended overhead or one-handed work.
Best for: DEWALT 20V MAX users who need a dedicated cordless saw for wood cutting and occasional bevel work.
Not ideal for: First-time cordless-tool buyers without a compatible battery and charger, or shoppers who want multiple tools in one purchase.
- Model:DCS391B
- Platform:DEWALT 20V MAX
- Motor speed:5,150 RPM
- Blade:6.5-inch, 18-tooth high-speed steel
- Bevel capacity:0–50 degrees
- Battery:One lithium-ion battery required; not included
- Item weight:3.16 kg
- Warranty:3-year limited
Our verdict“Buy this saw as a dedicated cutting tool if you already have DEWALT 20V MAX batteries; otherwise, a kit with a battery may be a better starting point.”
DEWALT 20V MAX 7-Tool Cordless Combo Kit with 5Ah Battery and Charger (DCK751P1)
This DEWALT kit pairs seven useful tools with a 5Ah battery, a meaningful advantage for longer cutting or sanding sessions compared with kits here that supply only 2.0Ah packs. Its lineup includes a jigsaw and random orbital sander, making it a stronger match for woodworking and finishing than the CRAFTSMAN V20 7-Tool Kit, which instead adds a grinder and task light. DEWALT also specifies brushless motors for several tools, alongside a 1,500 in-lb impact driver and a jigsaw rated up to 3,200 strokes per minute. The catch is the kit’s single included battery: it offers more capacity per charge, but no spare is ready while it charges. At 29.8 pounds for the listed set, this is also a substantial kit to move around. I’d favor it for task variety and battery capacity, not battery rotation.
Pros:- Seven tools include a jigsaw and random orbital sander for woodworking tasks.
- Included 5Ah battery offers more capacity per pack than the 2.0Ah batteries in several competing kits.
- Impact driver is specified at 1,500 in-lb of torque.
- Brushless motors are specified for several tools.
Cons:- Only one battery is included, so work pauses when it needs charging unless another pack is available.
- The listed set weight is 29.8 pounds, which can make transport less convenient.
Best for: Woodworkers and renovation-minded DIYers who need drilling, cutting, sanding, and jigsaw capability with a higher-capacity battery.
Not ideal for: Users who need a spare battery for continuous work or prefer a lighter, more portable kit.
- Platform:DEWALT 20V MAX
- Included tools:Drill, impact driver, reciprocating saw, circular saw, oscillating tool, random orbital sander, jigsaw
- Battery:1 × 5Ah
- Impact driver torque:1,500 in-lb
- Drill power:340 UWO
- Circular saw blade:6.5-inch carbide
- Jigsaw speed:Up to 3,200 spm
- Random orbital sander speed:8,000–12,000 OPM
- Listed set weight:29.8 pounds
Our verdict“Choose this DEWALT kit for woodworking range and a higher-capacity battery, provided you can manage with one included pack.”
BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX 4-Tool Cordless Power Tool Combo Kit
This BLACK+DECKER set keeps the lineup focused: a drill/driver, circular saw, reciprocating saw, and work light cover common household repairs and straightforward cutting without the extra specialty tools found in the CRAFTSMAN and DEWALT seven-tool kits. Two batteries and a charger make it more ready to use out of the box than the standalone DEWALT DCS391B saw, which requires a separate battery purchase. Its 3/8-inch drill chuck and 11-position clutch suit light fastening and drilling, while tool-free saw adjustments make routine changes less of a hassle. The tradeoff is capacity: the circular saw’s 5.5-inch blade has less reach than the 6.5-inch blades in the other saw options here, and the set offers fewer tools for specialized work. I’d choose it for basic home tasks, not demanding renovation workloads.
Pros:- Four practical tools cover basic drilling, cutting, and work-area lighting.
- Includes two 20V MAX batteries and a charger.
- Drill has a keyless 3/8-inch chuck and 11-position clutch.
- Reciprocating saw supports tool-free blade changes.
Cons:- The 5.5-inch circular saw blade offers less cutting capacity than the 6.5-inch blades in competing options.
- Four tools provide less task coverage than the CRAFTSMAN or DEWALT seven-tool kits.
Best for: New homeowners and casual DIYers who want a straightforward drill-and-saw set with two batteries for repairs and occasional cutting.
Not ideal for: Frequent remodelers or woodworkers who need a larger circular-saw blade, specialty tools, or stronger support for sustained heavy work.
- Platform:BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX
- Included tools:Drill/driver, circular saw, reciprocating saw, work light
- Batteries:2 lithium-ion batteries
- Drill chuck:3/8-inch keyless
- Drill speed:0–650 rpm
- Circular saw blade:5.5 inches
- Reciprocating saw speed and stroke:3,000 spm; 7/8-inch stroke
- Work light:Up to 70 lumens; up to 11-hour runtime
- Warranty:2-year limited
Our verdict“Pick this kit for everyday household projects and a simple two-battery setup, but step up to a larger kit for frequent or specialized work.”

How We Picked
I compared these options by how well each supports a realistic set of cordless jobs, not by counting tools alone. The ranking favors useful combinations of drilling, fastening, cutting, and task lighting, along with battery availability, platform flexibility, and the practical value of included chargers and bags. I also considered whether a kit makes sense for a first purchase or mainly benefits someone who already owns compatible batteries.
Range and usability helped separate the broad kits from focused sets, while battery capacity and kit completeness affected how ready each option is for longer sessions. Larger kits did not automatically rank higher: tools a buyer may not need can add bulk without improving the fit. The DEWALT 9-tool kit ranks first for its wide coverage, while compact, specialist, and entry-level choices rank according to the buyers they serve best. Product names and listed kit contents guided these comparisons; I do not present them as hands-on test results.
Factors to Consider When Choosing Best Cordless Power Tools
Before choosing a kit, decide what work you need it to do now and what you may add later. These factors can help you avoid paying for unused tools or starting with a battery platform that does not fit your plans.
Choose a battery platform before counting tools
A cordless kit is also a commitment to a battery system, so think beyond the first box. If you expect to add a saw, sander, or yard tool later, check whether the same platform has the tools you are likely to need. A larger kit can be a poor fit if its batteries do not serve your future purchases. For a first setup, favor a complete kit with batteries and a charger; a bare tool like the DEWALT DCS391B makes more sense when you already own compatible batteries. Also check the exact voltage family and battery fit rather than assuming tools from one brand all share a platform.
Match battery capacity to the work, not the tool count
Battery capacity affects how long a tool can run between charges, but a higher-capacity battery can add weight and bulk. Repeated cutting or extended fastening often makes spare batteries more useful than an extra tool you rarely reach for. A compact drill used for household repairs may be comfortable with smaller batteries, while a kit intended for a full workday benefits from more capacity or a quick charging routine. Check how many batteries are included and whether their capacities differ. Do not assume a multi-tool kit is ready for continuous work just because it includes several tools.
Buy for the jobs you actually do
Start with a short list of common tasks, such as assembling furniture, drilling into framing, or cutting sheet goods. A drill-and-impact pair covers many fastening jobs, while a circular saw adds meaningful value only if your projects call for repeated straight cuts. Oscillating tools and lights can be handy, but they should not crowd out a tool you need more often. Large kits look efficient on paper yet can leave you storing equipment that rarely leaves the case. A focused kit may be the better purchase when it covers your real workload and leaves room to add tools later.
Look beyond the headline number of tools
Tool counts can include accessories or tools with narrow uses, so compare the actual contents rather than the number on the box. Identify the core tools first, then decide whether the remaining items add useful coverage. A kit with a drill, driver, and saw may serve a home renovator better than a larger set with fewer tools for cutting. Check whether batteries, charger, and storage are included, since missing essentials can change how ready a kit is to use. For a buyer who already owns some tools, a smaller kit that fills a gap may be more sensible than buying a duplicate set.
Balance portability, power, and comfort
Compact tools are easier to use overhead, in tight corners, and during short household jobs, while larger tools and batteries can be better suited to sustained or demanding work. The difference matters if you regularly use a drill at arm’s length or carry equipment between locations. Consider the weight of the tool with its battery attached, not just the tool body. A 12V option can be a sensible choice for lighter work, but buyers planning frequent cutting or heavy fastening may prefer a broader 18V or 20V platform. Choose for the most demanding task you perform often, not the occasional job that could be handled another way.
Treat brushless features as a use-case decision
Brushless motors can be attractive to frequent users who want a more capable tool design, but the label alone does not determine whether a kit is right for you. Consider how often the tool will run, what jobs it will handle, and whether the kit has the batteries and tools your work calls for. For occasional repairs, a well-matched basic kit may provide more practical value than paying for a feature you may not use much. Frequent users should compare the whole package, including battery supply and tool selection, rather than focusing on one specification. The best choice is the one whose capabilities match your regular workload without leaving essential items out.
Frequently Asked Questions
Should I choose a large combo kit or buy tools one at a time?
A combo kit can be a practical start when you need several core tools and batteries at once. Before choosing one, check whether its saws, lights, or specialty tools match projects you expect to do. Buying tools separately may suit someone who already owns batteries or wants a higher-capacity battery with each tool. A large kit is not automatically better if it includes duplicates or tools that will sit unused. Compare the complete contents against your project list, including charger and storage.
Is the DEWALT DCS391B circular saw ready to use out of the box?
No; the listed DCS391B is a bare tool with no battery included. It makes the most sense if you already have a compatible DEWALT 20V MAX battery and charger. If you are starting from scratch, a saw-and-battery kit or a broader combo kit may be a more complete purchase. Check that your existing battery belongs to the compatible platform before buying. Also plan for the blade and any safety gear your cutting work requires.
Do I need a 6-, 9-, or 10-tool kit for home projects?
Tool count alone is a weak way to decide. A six-tool kit can cover common household tasks if it includes the tools you will use, while a nine- or ten-tool kit can make sense for renovation work that spans drilling, fastening, and cutting. Compare the actual tool list and battery package rather than assuming each added item improves the kit. If your needs are mostly hanging shelves and assembling furniture, a drill-and-driver setup may be easier to manage. Buy a larger collection only when its extra tools map to work you expect to do.
Will a 12V drill handle the same work as an 18V or 20V combo kit?
A 12V drill such as the Bosch PS31-2A is aimed at lighter drilling and fastening, with portability as a key advantage. It is not a direct substitute for a multi-tool setup when projects call for saws, sustained cutting, or a broader range of tasks. For everyday repairs and tight spaces, a compact drill can be a sensible choice. If you expect demanding work or want to build out several tools on one platform, a larger voltage family may fit better. Match the choice to your regular jobs rather than selecting by voltage alone.
Is a kit with two small batteries enough for a full day of work?
That depends on how heavily you use the tools and how often you can recharge. Two smaller batteries can be workable for intermittent home projects, especially when one can charge while the other is in use. Repeated cutting or fastening can drain batteries faster, so a kit with higher-capacity batteries or additional compatible batteries may suit longer sessions. Battery capacity also adds weight, which can make compact tools less comfortable. Check the included capacities and plan around your heaviest regular task.
Conclusion
For the widest all-round coverage, I would start with the DEWALT 20V MAX 9-Tool Combo Kit, while keeping its two 2.0Ah batteries in mind for longer sessions. Buyers seeking a broad starter set should compare the Greenworks and RYOBI six-tool kits by platform fit and included tools; the DEWALT brushless three-tool set is my premium-leaning choice for someone who values a focused lineup and three batteries over maximum tool count. For beginners with mostly light repair jobs, the Bosch 12V drill kit offers a simpler, more portable start, while the DEWALT drill-and-driver pairs suit buyers who need stronger coverage for fastening tasks. Choose the DEWALT DCS391B only if you already have its compatible battery platform and specifically need a circular saw. Match your kit to the work you will actually do, then let battery compatibility guide your next additions.


















