Among the best Kobalt batteries in this roundup, I’d start with the Kobalt 24V Max 4.0Ah battery as the best overall choice for a balanced mix of capacity and brand-specific fit. The Kobalt 40V 4.0Ah battery is a strong pick for compatible yard tools, while the Kobalt 24V Max 2.0Ah compact battery suits lighter tools where low weight matters more than runtime. The main tradeoff is between genuine Kobalt batteries and third-party replacements that offer larger capacities or multipacks but require extra care with compatibility and support. Voltage, battery shape, and charger fit matter as much as the amp-hour number. Read on for the full breakdown and help matching a battery to your Kobalt platform.
Get business pricing on tools and workshop supplies
- Business-only prices and quantity discounts
- Tax-exempt purchasing
- Multiple users, one account, clear invoices
Complete the kit
Key Takeaways
- Voltage determines fit: The 20V, 24V, 40V, and 80V options belong to distinct tool platforms; a higher voltage or larger capacity does not make a battery interchangeable.
- Genuine Kobalt picks cover different needs: The 24V 4.0Ah battery balances everyday tool use, the 40V 4.0Ah option fits compatible outdoor equipment, and the 80V models serve a separate high-voltage platform.
- Third-party packs lean toward capacity and quantity: Several replacement choices come in two-packs or offer 6.0Ah-plus capacities, but buyers should verify exact tool and charger compatibility before choosing one.
- Compact capacity has a clear role: The Kobalt 24V 2.0Ah battery favors lighter weight and manageable handling over the longer runtime sought by users doing extended work.
- Capacity claims alone do not settle the choice: A useful battery must match the platform and suit the tool’s weight, runtime demands, charging setup, and support needs.
| Kobalt batterie | Voltage | Brand | Capacity | Battery type |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| DTK 40V 6.2Ah Replacement Batt | 40V | DTK | 6.2Ah (6200mAh) | Lithium-ion |
| ELECtrysium 40V 6.0Ah Replacem | 40V DC | ELECtrysium | 6.0Ah (6000mAh) | Lithium-ion |
| Kobalt 24V Max 2.0Ah Lithium-I | 24V Max | — | 2.0Ah (2000mAh) | Lithium-ion |
| SAPBJ 2-Pack 24V 6.0Ah Lithium | 24V | SAPBJ | 6.0Ah (6000mAh) | Lithium-ion |
| DTK Replacement 40V 6.0Ah Batt | 40V | DTK | 6.0Ah (6000mAh) | — |
| FSKE 24V 6500mAh Replacement B | 24V | FSKE | 6500mAh (6.5Ah) | Lithium-ion |
| Kobalt 40V 4.0Ah Rechargeable | 40V | Kobalt | 4.0Ah | Lithium-ion |
| Kobalt 80V Lithium-Ion Cordles | 80V | Kobalt | — | Lithium-ion |
| DTK 24V 6.5Ah Replacement Batt | 24V | DTK | 6.5Ah | Lithium-ion |
| Kobalt 24-Volt Max 4.0Ah Lithi | 24V Max | Kobalt | 4.0Ah (4000mAh) | Lithium-ion |
| Kobalt 80V Max 2.5Ah Lithium-I | 80V Max | Kobalt | 2.5Ah | Lithium-ion |
| Bayhon 2-Pack 6.0Ah Lithium-Io | 37–40 V | Bayhon | 6.0Ah per battery | Lithium-ion |
| LiBatter 40V 4.0Ah Replacement | 40V | LiBatter | 4.0Ah (4000mAh) | Lithium-ion |
| FJP 2-Pack 6.0 Ah 24V Replacem | 24 V | FJP | 6000 mAh per battery | Lithium-ion |
| Kobalt 20V Lithium-Ion 4.0Ah P | 20 volts | Kobalt | 4.0 amp-hours | — |
More Details on Our Top Picks
DTK 40V 6.2Ah Replacement Batteries for Kobalt Cordless Tools, 2-Pack
The 6.2Ah capacity gives this pair a small runtime advantage over the DTK 40V 6.0Ah 2-Pack, while two batteries let yard-work owners keep a spare ready. The four-LED gauge makes it easier to check remaining charge before starting a job, and built-in electrical and temperature protections add useful safeguards. It is a practical fit for compatible trimmers, blowers, hedge trimmers, chainsaws, and mowers.
The tradeoff is that this is a third-party replacement, not a Kobalt-branded battery, and its listed compatibility covers specific tools, chargers, and battery models rather than every Kobalt 40V product. I would verify the exact model number before buying. The product data also lists the cell type as “Other Than Listed,” which offers less clarity than a clearly specified cell category.
Pros:- Two batteries provide a ready spare for longer yard-work sessions.
- 6.2Ah capacity is slightly higher than the DTK 40V 6.0Ah pair in this roundup.
- Four-LED indicator gives a quick view of charge status.
- Includes overcharge, over-discharge, over-current, and overheating protection.
Cons:- Compatibility is limited to the listed Kobalt 40V models and chargers.
- Cell type is identified as “Other Than Listed,” leaving the chemistry details less clear.
- The listed 12-month limited warranty is shorter than the three-year warranty offered with the ELECtrysium 40V 6.0Ah replacement.
Best for: Owners of listed Kobalt 40V yard tools who want two replacement batteries and a little more capacity than a 6.0Ah pair.
Not ideal for: Buyers who need confirmed compatibility with an unlisted Kobalt tool or prefer a battery with a clearly specified cell type.
- Brand:DTK
- Voltage:40V
- Capacity:6.2Ah (6200mAh)
- Energy:248Wh
- Quantity:2 batteries
- Battery type:Lithium-ion
- Compatible models:KPM1040A-03, KM-1640-06, KM 4040-06, KM1940-07
- Compatible chargers:KRC60-06, KRC40-06, KRC 840-03
- Warranty:12-month limited warranty
Our verdict“Choose this pair if your Kobalt 40V model is listed and you want two batteries with slightly more capacity than the DTK 6.0Ah option.”
ELECtrysium 40V 6.0Ah Replacement Battery for Kobalt 40V Tools
For buyers who need one replacement rather than a two-pack, this 40V 6.0Ah battery stands out for its stated three-year warranty. That warranty is longer than the 12-month coverage listed for both DTK 40V bundles, though the ELECtrysium does not include a second battery for rotation. Its battery management system lists protection against overcharge, overheating, short circuits, and over-voltage, making it a feature-rich single-battery alternative for supported tools.
The manufacturer also claims more than 1,200 charge cycles, but I would treat that as a claim rather than a guaranteed lifespan. Compatibility is limited to specified Kobalt batteries and chargers, so model checking still matters. Compared with the Kobalt 24V Max 2.0Ah compact battery, this option offers far more capacity, but it belongs to the 40V platform and cannot serve 24V tools.
Pros:- 6.0Ah capacity suits longer tasks better than a compact, lower-capacity battery.
- Three-year warranty is longer than the 12-month coverage listed for the DTK 40V bundles.
- Battery management system lists several electrical and heat protections.
- Compatible with several listed Kobalt battery models and chargers.
Cons:- Only one battery is included, unlike the DTK 40V two-packs.
- Compatibility is limited to supported Kobalt 40V models and chargers.
- The over-1,200-cycle figure is a manufacturer claim, not a guaranteed result.
Best for: Kobalt 40V tool owners replacing one compatible battery who value a longer stated warranty over getting a two-battery bundle.
Not ideal for: Buyers who need two batteries for continuous work, own a 24V Kobalt tool, or require independently verified cycle-life figures.
- Brand:ELECtrysium
- Voltage:40V DC
- Capacity:6.0Ah (6000mAh)
- Battery type:Lithium-ion
- Compatible battery models:KB440-03, KB640-03, KB240-06, KB240C-06
- Compatible chargers:KRC60-06, KRC40-06
- Charge-cycle claim:Over 1,200 cycles
- Weight:4.8 ounces (as listed)
- Warranty:3 years
Our verdict“Pick this single battery if your Kobalt 40V model is supported and the longer stated warranty matters more than getting a second battery.”
Kobalt 24V Max 2.0Ah Lithium-Ion Compact Battery
This is the Kobalt-branded compact pick for shoppers who want a smaller battery for compatible 24V Max tools. At 2.0Ah and 0.5 kg, it prioritizes a compact format over extended runtime. That makes it a more natural match for lighter or shorter jobs than the SAPBJ 24V 6.0Ah 2-Pack, which offers much greater stated capacity but is a third-party bundle.
The main compromise is straightforward: a 2.0Ah capacity means less runtime than the 6.0Ah replacement options, so frequent users may need to recharge or keep another battery available. Its listed size is small, but the provided data does not specify exact dimensions or a charge indicator. I would choose it for a compatible 24V Max setup when compactness and the Kobalt name matter more than maximizing time between charges.
Pros:- Kobalt-branded option for compatible 24V Max tools.
- Compact size is suited to buyers prioritizing a smaller battery format.
- Lithium-ion construction.
- Single 2.0Ah battery is a simple fit for shorter jobs.
Cons:- 2.0Ah capacity offers less runtime than the 6.0Ah SAPBJ 24V replacement batteries.
- Only one battery is included.
- The listed specifications do not identify a charge indicator or detailed tool compatibility list.
Best for: Kobalt 24V Max owners who want a compact Kobalt-branded battery for shorter jobs or lighter tool use.
Not ideal for: Gardeners or tradespeople running tools for extended periods who would benefit more from a higher-capacity option such as the SAPBJ 24V 6.0Ah two-pack.
- Voltage:24V Max
- Capacity:2.0Ah (2000mAh)
- Battery type:Lithium-ion
- Weight:0.5 kg
- Size:Small
- Unit count:1
- Manufacturer part number:KB 224-03
- Terminal:AGM terminal
Our verdict“Choose this Kobalt-branded battery for compact 24V Max use, but select a higher-capacity option if longer runtime is your priority.”
SAPBJ 2-Pack 24V 6.0Ah Lithium-Ion Replacement Batteries for Kobalt Tools
The SAPBJ 24V 6.0Ah two-pack is the capacity-focused choice for buyers already using Kobalt 24V Max tools. Two batteries and 6.0Ah apiece offer a substantial step up in stated capacity from the Kobalt 24V Max 2.0Ah compact battery, while allowing one battery to charge as the other is in use. Its battery management system lists protection against overcharging, over-discharging, over-voltage, over-current, and overheating.
That extra capacity comes with a third-party compatibility check: the listing names supported battery models, but buyers should match those numbers to their own setup before ordering. The 12-month warranty is shorter than the three-year coverage listed for the ELECtrysium 40V single battery. Also, the supplied weight figure of 1 g appears unreliable, so I would not use it to judge portability. This makes more sense for longer 24V sessions than for buyers who value a compact single battery.
Pros:- Two batteries provide a spare while the other is in use or charging.
- 6.0Ah capacity is higher than the Kobalt 24V Max 2.0Ah compact battery.
- Battery management lists several electrical and temperature protections.
- Compatible with a range of listed Kobalt 24V battery models.
Cons:- Compatibility is limited to Kobalt 24V systems and listed models.
- The 12-month warranty is shorter than the three-year warranty listed for ELECtrysium’s 40V battery.
- The stated 1 g battery weight appears unreliable and cannot guide a portability comparison.
Best for: Kobalt 24V Max owners who want two higher-capacity replacement batteries for longer tool sessions or battery rotation.
Not ideal for: Buyers seeking a compact, lightweight single battery, or anyone whose Kobalt 24V model is not among the listed compatible models.
- Brand:SAPBJ
- Voltage:24V
- Capacity:6.0Ah (6000mAh)
- Quantity:2 batteries
- Battery type:Lithium-ion
- Compatible models:KB624-03, KB524-03, KB424-03, KB224-03, KB124-03, 0673802, 1051230
- Compatible tools:Kobalt 24V Max family
- Warranty:12 months
Our verdict“Choose this set for longer use from compatible Kobalt 24V Max tools, provided you verify the model numbers and do not rely on the listed weight.”
DTK Replacement 40V 6.0Ah Batteries for Kobalt Cordless Tools, 2-Pack
This DTK pair makes sense for Kobalt 40V owners who want two 6.0Ah replacements rather than the slightly higher-capacity 6.2Ah DTK set. It lists a wider range of compatible battery models, including KB-540-06, KB440-06, KB240-06, KB2540C-06, and KB640-03, alongside compatible chargers. The four-LED gauge helps show charge status, and built-in protections cover overcharging, over-discharging, over-current, and overheating.
Compared with the ELECtrysium 40V 6.0Ah single battery, this bundle prioritizes quantity over warranty length: two batteries are included, but coverage is 12 months rather than three years. It is still a third-party replacement, so matching the model and charger numbers is important. No charger is listed as included, and the listed 2,000 g battery weight may matter to buyers trying to keep a tool setup light.
Pros:- Two 6.0Ah batteries support battery rotation and backup.
- Lists compatibility with several Kobalt 40V battery models and chargers.
- Four-LED indicator shows charge status.
- Includes electrical and thermal protection features.
Cons:- Charger is not listed as included.
- 12-month limited warranty is shorter than the three-year warranty listed for ELECtrysium’s single 40V battery.
- 6.0Ah capacity is lower than the DTK 40V 6.2Ah two-pack.
Best for: Kobalt 40V yard-tool owners with a listed compatible model who want two batteries for rotation or backup.
Not ideal for: Buyers who need a charger in the package, prefer a longer stated warranty, or want the slightly higher capacity of the DTK 40V 6.2Ah pair.
- Brand:DTK
- Voltage:40V
- Capacity:6.0Ah (6000mAh)
- Energy:240Wh
- Quantity:2 batteries
- Battery chemistry:Lithium-ion
- Compatible battery models:KB-540-06, KB440-06, KB240-06, KB2540C-06, KB640-03
- Compatible chargers:KRC60-06, KRC40-06, KRC 840-03
- Warranty:12-month limited warranty
Our verdict“Pick this pair if you need two compatible 40V replacements and value battery rotation more than a longer warranty or the 6.2Ah set’s extra capacity.”
FSKE 24V 6500mAh Replacement Batteries for Kobalt Tools, 2-Pack
The FSKE pair suits Kobalt 24V owners who want two high-capacity replacements rather than a single branded battery. Each pack is rated at 6.5Ah, giving it more stated capacity than the Kobalt KB 424-03 4.0Ah; that can mean fewer interruptions for buyers whose tools accept these listed battery models. Four charge-status LEDs make it easier to check remaining power at a glance, while the built-in management system lists protections for overcharging, over-voltage, short circuits, and heat. The tradeoff is that FSKE is an aftermarket option, and compatibility is limited to the specified tools and chargers—not every Kobalt battery platform. I’d check the model numbers on both the tool and charger before buying. Its two-pack format is convenient, but it offers less brand continuity than Kobalt’s own single-battery option.
Pros:- Two batteries supplied, making rotation practical
- 6.5Ah capacity per battery exceeds the listed 4.0Ah Kobalt KB 424-03
- Four LEDs show charge status
- Built-in protections cover several electrical and heat risks
Cons:- Compatibility is restricted to specified Kobalt 24V batteries, tools, and chargers
- Aftermarket brand may not suit buyers seeking a Kobalt-branded replacement
Best for: Kobalt 24V owners with listed compatible tools who want two higher-capacity batteries for longer work sessions or rotation between jobs.
Not ideal for: Buyers who need a battery for a different Kobalt voltage platform, or who prefer a Kobalt-branded battery and broad platform certainty.
- Brand:FSKE
- Model:KB624-03H
- Battery type:Lithium-ion
- Voltage:24V
- Capacity:6500mAh (6.5Ah)
- Pack count:2 batteries
- Battery weight:1.6 lb each
- Dimensions:4.94 x 3.5 x 2.82 inches
- Compatible chargers:KRC 2490-03, KRC 2404-03, KRC 2445-03, KCH 2411-03
Our verdict“Choose the FSKE pair if your Kobalt 24V models are on its compatibility list and you want two 6.5Ah batteries instead of one 4.0Ah branded pack.”
Kobalt 40V 4.0Ah Rechargeable Lithium-Ion Battery
This Kobalt battery is the straightforward choice for owners of compatible Kobalt 40V equipment who want a branded 4.0Ah pack, not an aftermarket substitute. Its capacity sits below the listed 6.0Ah and 6.2Ah replacement options elsewhere in the roundup, so it is better suited to buyers who value a Kobalt-branded fit over maximizing capacity per charge. The product description also specifies fade-free power and no memory loss from charging, while the three-year limited warranty gives buyers a stated support period. The catch is platform lock-in: its proprietary connector rules out tools outside the Kobalt 40V lineup. I’d skip it if longer runtimes are the priority; a compatible higher-capacity replacement may better fit that need, though compatibility and brand preference still matter.
Pros:- Kobalt-branded battery for compatible 40V equipment
- 4.0Ah capacity with stated fade-free power
- Designed to avoid memory loss from charging
- Three-year limited warranty is specified
Cons:- Lower capacity than the listed 6.0Ah and 6.2Ah 40V replacement packs
- Proprietary connector limits use to compatible Kobalt equipment
Best for: Kobalt 40V tool and outdoor-equipment owners who prefer a Kobalt-branded 4.0Ah battery and value the stated warranty.
Not ideal for: 40V users prioritizing the longest runtime per charge, or anyone with tools outside the Kobalt 40V platform.
- Brand:Kobalt
- Voltage:40V
- Capacity:4.0Ah
- Battery type:Lithium-ion
- Connector:Kobalt proprietary connector
- Weight:1.15 kg
- Warranty:3-year limited
- Manufacturer part number:AB-135
Our verdict“Pick this branded 40V battery if fit and its stated warranty matter more to you than the higher capacity offered by some replacement packs.”
Kobalt 80V Lithium-Ion Cordless Power Equipment Battery
For a buyer already committed to Kobalt’s 80V tool platform, this branded battery has a clear advantage over the 24V and 40V options here: it is designed for a different voltage lineup, not as a general-purpose substitute. The listing describes fade-free output and a stated 30-minute quick-charge time, which may appeal to owners planning around shorter charging breaks. But the capacity field says “2 milliamp-hours,” a figure that appears unreliable and does not give a useful basis for estimating runtime. By comparison, the Kobalt 24V KB 424-03 has a clear 4.0Ah rating, so buyers seeking dependable capacity data should favor a better-documented option within their own platform. I’d choose this only after confirming the exact 80V model and verifying the battery rating with the seller or manufacturer.
Pros:- Designed for compatible Kobalt 80V tools
- Kobalt-branded option for the 80V platform
- Listing states a 30-minute quick-charge time
- Described as fade-free and resistant to memory loss
Cons:- Listed capacity of 2 milliamp-hours appears unreliable
- Capacity uncertainty makes runtime comparisons difficult
- 80V compatibility excludes the 24V and 40V tools featured elsewhere
Best for: Owners of compatible Kobalt 80V tools who need a battery for that platform and can verify the capacity details before purchase.
Not ideal for: Buyers who need a clearly documented capacity to estimate runtime, or owners of Kobalt 24V and 40V equipment.
- Brand:Kobalt
- Model:KB 280-06
- Battery type:Lithium-ion
- Voltage:80V
- Listed capacity:2 milliamp-hours
- Compatible tools:Kobalt 80V tools
- Stated quick-charge time:30 minutes
- Battery count:1
- Battery weight:1800 g
Our verdict“Consider this only for a compatible Kobalt 80V tool after confirming its capacity, since the listing’s battery rating is not dependable enough for runtime planning.”
DTK 24V 6.5Ah Replacement Batteries for Kobalt Cordless Tools, 2-Pack
DTK’s two-pack targets Kobalt 24V owners who want 6.5Ah capacity in both batteries and a stated warranty from an aftermarket seller. Its listed 156Wh energy rating adds another point of comparison that the FSKE two-pack does not provide in its supplied specs. Both options list LEDs and built-in protections; DTK names overcurrent protection as well as overcharge, overheating, short-circuit, and over-voltage safeguards. The product also specifies a 30-day replacement or money-back period and a one-year limited warranty. That policy may matter to buyers comparing it with FSKE, which lists no warranty details in the supplied information. Neither pack removes the need to check exact tool and charger compatibility, and DTK lists fewer compatible chargers than FSKE. It makes the most sense when the listed models match and warranty terms influence the choice.
Pros:- Two 6.5Ah batteries included
- 156Wh energy rating is specified
- LED charge indicators and several listed safety protections
- 30-day replacement or money-back period plus one-year limited warranty
Cons:- Compatibility is limited to listed Kobalt 24V models and chargers
- Aftermarket brand may not appeal to buyers seeking a Kobalt-branded pack
Best for: Kobalt 24V owners whose tools and charger match DTK’s list, especially buyers who want a two-pack with stated warranty terms.
Not ideal for: Owners of unlisted Kobalt battery models or chargers, and buyers seeking a Kobalt-branded battery rather than an aftermarket replacement.
- Brand:DTK
- Voltage:24V
- Capacity:6.5Ah
- Energy:156Wh
- Pack count:2
- Battery type:Lithium-ion
- Battery weight:1.5 lb each
- Warranty:30-day money-back or replacement; 1-year limited
- Compatible chargers:KRC 2490-03, KRC 2404-03
Our verdict“Choose DTK over the FSKE pair if its compatibility list fits your setup and its stated warranty terms are a deciding factor.”
Kobalt 24-Volt Max 4.0Ah Lithium-Ion Power Tool Battery (KB 424-03)
The KB 424-03 is the branded single-battery choice for Kobalt 24-volt Max tool owners who want a clear 4.0Ah rating and specified safeguards. Its charge-status indicator works on or off the tool, so checking the battery does not require mounting it first. The listed protection against extreme temperatures, over-discharge, and over-charge is another practical distinction from the aftermarket FSKE and DTK pairs, which emphasize multiple batteries and 6.5Ah capacity instead. That lower 4.0Ah rating means this Kobalt pack is not the runtime leader, and it includes no charger; the product states about an hour to recharge when used with a separately sold charger. I’d favor it when branded compatibility and status visibility matter more than getting two higher-capacity batteries in one package.
Pros:- Kobalt-branded battery for compatible 24-volt Max tools
- Charge-status indicator can be checked on or off the tool
- Protection against extreme temperatures, over-discharge, and over-charge is specified
- Stated recharge time is about one hour with a compatible charger
Cons:- Lower capacity than the 6.5Ah FSKE and DTK two-packs
- Only one battery is included
- Charger is sold separately
Best for: Kobalt 24-volt Max tool owners who want a Kobalt-branded replacement with a readable charge indicator and listed temperature and charging protections.
Not ideal for: Buyers who need two batteries, want higher capacity than 4.0Ah, or do not already have a compatible charger.
- Brand:Kobalt
- Model:KB 424-03
- Battery type:Lithium-ion
- Voltage:24V Max
- Capacity:4.0Ah (4000mAh)
- Charge time:About 1 hour
- Battery count:1
- Charger included:No
- Dimensions:5.35 x 5.63 x 5.28 inches
Our verdict“Choose the KB 424-03 if you want one Kobalt-branded 24V battery with clear status and protection features, and already have a compatible charger.”
Kobalt 80V Max 2.5Ah Lithium-Ion Cordless Tool Battery, KB 2580-06
For buyers already invested in Kobalt’s 80V Max tool family, this genuine Kobalt pack is a straightforward choice when a lighter, modest-capacity battery matters more than all-day runtime. Its 2.5Ah capacity offers up to 25% more runtime than the standard 2.0Ah battery, while a stated charge time of 40 minutes or less helps limit downtime. The onboard LED gauge also makes it easier to judge whether there is enough charge for another task. Compared with the larger-capacity Kobalt 80V battery in this roundup, this pack favors a smaller capacity over longer work sessions. Its main tradeoff is strict platform fit: it works with Kobalt 80V Max tools, not the 40V or 24V lines. Choose it as a compatible spare, not a cross-platform battery.
Pros:- Compatible with the Kobalt 80V Max family
- 2.5Ah capacity offers up to 25% more runtime than the standard 2.0Ah battery
- Stated charge time is 40 minutes or less
- Onboard LED fuel gauge shows remaining power
Cons:- Fits only Kobalt 80V Max tools
- Lower capacity than larger 80V battery options for longer work sessions
Best for: Kobalt 80V Max tool owners who want a genuine, relatively compact spare for shorter jobs or quick battery swaps.
Not ideal for: Buyers seeking extended runtime, a multi-battery bundle, or one battery for Kobalt 40V, 24V, or 20V tools.
- Brand:Kobalt
- Model:KB 2580-06
- Voltage:80V Max
- Capacity:2.5Ah
- Battery type:Lithium-ion
- Charge time:40 minutes or less
- Compatibility:Kobalt 80V Max family of tools
- Battery count:1
- Fuel gauge:Onboard LED
Our verdict“Choose this genuine Kobalt pack when 80V Max compatibility, a fuel gauge, and quick recharging matter more than maximum runtime.”
Bayhon 2-Pack 6.0Ah Lithium-Ion Replacement Batteries for Kobalt 40V Tools
The Bayhon set stands out for buyers who need two high-capacity replacement packs for compatible Kobalt 40V tools. Each battery is rated at 6.0Ah, giving this bundle more capacity per pack than the single LiBatter 40V 4.0Ah replacement. That makes the Bayhon pair a more suitable backup supply for extended yard or workshop tasks, although runtime still depends on the tool and working conditions. Its LED status lights and protection circuitry add useful charge visibility and safeguards, and the listed replacement part numbers help shoppers check fit before buying. The tradeoff is that Bayhon is an aftermarket brand, and the claimed runtime improvement comes from the product listing rather than independent data. Confirm both tool and charger compatibility carefully; this is not a universal Kobalt battery.
Pros:- Includes two 6.0Ah rechargeable batteries
- Higher capacity per battery than the LiBatter 40V 4.0Ah option
- LED power indicators show charge status
- Protection system covers overcharge, over-discharge, over-current, and overheating
Cons:- Aftermarket replacement rather than a Kobalt-branded battery
- Compatible only with supported Kobalt 40V tools and chargers
- Runtime improvement is a product-listing claim, not independently established data
Best for: Kobalt 40V tool owners who need a pair of high-capacity replacement batteries and have verified their tool and charger against the supported models or part numbers.
Not ideal for: Buyers who want a genuine Kobalt battery, need a single smaller pack, or cannot confirm compatibility with their specific 40V tool and charger.
- Brand:Bayhon
- Model:KB440-03H
- Voltage:37–40 V
- Capacity:6.0Ah per battery
- Pack quantity:2
- Battery type:Lithium-ion
- Compatibility:Kobalt 40V tools and chargers; listed replacements include 88620, 88675, L135, 88502, 66810, and L324
- Protection:Overcharge, over-discharge, over-current, and overheat protection
- Warranty:1 year
Our verdict“Pick the Bayhon bundle if you have confirmed 40V compatibility and want two 6.0Ah replacement packs instead of one lower-capacity battery.”
LiBatter 40V 4.0Ah Replacement Battery for Kobalt
Unlike the Bayhon two-pack, the LiBatter is a single 40V replacement battery for buyers who need one backup rather than a pair of larger packs. Its 4.0Ah capacity offers a middle ground: more capacity than the Kobalt 80V 2.5Ah pack, but it belongs to a different voltage platform and is intended for compatible Kobalt 40V tools. A built-in protection chip covers several electrical and heat-related risks, while the listed charger models give buyers concrete compatibility checks. The listing also provides dimensions and a 2.5-pound weight, useful details when storage and handling matter. The tradeoff is aftermarket fit: the product data notes that fit and performance may vary by tool. Compared with Bayhon’s 6.0Ah two-pack, this is less suited to long stretches of work, but it avoids buying a second battery you may not need.
Pros:- 4.0Ah capacity in a single-battery replacement
- Protection chip guards against overcharging, over-discharging, excess voltage or current, and overheating
- Lists compatible charger models for fit checks
- Dimensions and weight are provided
Cons:- Only one battery is included
- Compatible only with supported Kobalt 40V tools and chargers
- Fit and performance may vary by tool
Best for: Kobalt 40V owners who need one replacement or backup pack and can confirm their tool and charger match the listed compatibility information.
Not ideal for: Buyers who need two batteries for longer work sessions, want a genuine Kobalt pack, or cannot verify the battery’s fit with their tool.
- Brand:LiBatter
- Voltage:40V
- Capacity:4.0Ah (4000mAh)
- Battery type:Lithium-ion
- Quantity:1
- Weight:2.5 lbs
- Dimensions:5.76 x 4.31 x 6.64 inches
- Compatible charger models:KRC40-06, KRC60-06, KRC840-03
- Warranty:1 year
Our verdict“Choose the LiBatter when you need one 4.0Ah 40V replacement and have checked its fit against your tool and charger.”
FJP 2-Pack 6.0 Ah 24V Replacement Batteries for Kobalt Tools
For owners of compatible Kobalt 24V tools, the FJP bundle pairs two 6.0Ah batteries with charge indicators on each pack. The capacity is substantially higher than the Kobalt 24V Max 2.0Ah compact battery in this roundup, making the FJP pair a better fit when longer intervals between swaps matter more than a small, lightweight pack. Each battery also lists 144Wh of energy, and its four-level LED gauge offers a quick charge check before work. FJP includes compatibility details for specified chargers and replacement part numbers, plus a one-year warranty and a 60-day money-back guarantee. The main limitation is platform specificity: these are 24V replacements, not substitutes for Kobalt 40V or 80V batteries. Their larger capacity may also be unnecessary for short tasks where a compact pack is easier to handle.
Pros:- Two 6.0Ah batteries are included
- Each battery has a four-level LED charge indicator
- Integrated circuit protection monitors temperature and overcurrent
- Includes a one-year warranty and 60-day money-back guarantee
Cons:- Compatible only with specified Kobalt 24V tools and chargers
- Larger capacity may be unnecessary for short tasks where a compact pack is preferred
Best for: Kobalt 24V tool owners who have verified charger compatibility and want two higher-capacity batteries for longer tasks or fewer interruptions.
Not ideal for: Buyers with Kobalt 40V or 80V tools, or 24V users who prioritize a compact battery for brief jobs.
- Brand:FJP
- Model:KB624-03
- Voltage:24 V
- Capacity:6000 mAh per battery
- Energy:144 Wh per battery
- Quantity:2 batteries
- Battery type:Lithium-ion
- Compatible charger models:KRC 2490-03, KRC 2404-03, KRC 2445-03, KCH 2411-03, KDPC
- Warranty:1 year; 60-day money-back guarantee
Our verdict“Choose the FJP set for compatible Kobalt 24V tools when two 6.0Ah packs are more useful than a compact, lower-capacity battery.”
Kobalt 20V Lithium-Ion 4.0Ah Power Tool Battery
This pick is the only battery in this group specified for Kobalt 20V tools, so its main advantage is platform match for buyers with compatible equipment. The 4.0Ah capacity gives it more stated capacity than the Kobalt 80V 2.5Ah battery, but those packs serve different voltage systems and cannot be treated as interchangeable. The listing claims up to three times the runtime, though it does not state the comparison conditions, so I would not use that figure as a direct guarantee for a particular tool. Unlike the FJP and Bayhon bundles, this is a single battery, and the listing provides limited compatibility detail. The product data also calls it single-use, which makes the rechargeability status unclear despite the lithium-ion chemistry. Confirm the exact tool fit and intended use before buying.
Pros:- Designed for compatible Kobalt 20V power tools
- 4.0Ah stated capacity
- Single-pack option for buyers who do not need a bundle
Cons:- Compatibility details are limited
- Product data lists the battery as single-use, leaving rechargeability unclear
- Up-to-three-times-runtime claim does not specify its comparison conditions
Best for: Owners of a compatible Kobalt 20V power tool who need one 4.0Ah battery and can confirm the model fits their equipment.
Not ideal for: Buyers who need a clearly documented rechargeable battery, a multi-pack, or a replacement for Kobalt 24V, 40V, or 80V tools.
- Brand:Kobalt
- Model:K20-LB40A
- Voltage:20 volts
- Capacity:4.0 amp-hours
- Battery chemistry:Lithium-ion
- Amperage:4 A
- Quantity:1
- Dimensions:7.5 x 7 x 3.5 inches
- Listing use description:Listed as single-use
Our verdict“Consider this battery only if you own a compatible Kobalt 20V tool and have confirmed its fit and rechargeability details.”

How We Picked
I compared the 15 listed batteries by voltage-platform fit, stated capacity, brand identity, and likely role across Kobalt power tools and outdoor equipment. I also weighed practical factors buyers can verify before ordering: whether a battery is an original Kobalt model or a third-party replacement, whether it is sold singly or as a pair, and whether its listed capacity suits compact-tool use or longer jobs.
The ranking favors choices that make a clear, broadly useful match for a specific Kobalt platform, rather than treating a higher amp-hour figure as an automatic win. Genuine Kobalt batteries rank well when brand-specific fit is the priority; third-party multipacks stand out when buyers want more capacity or a spare, with compatibility checks and support as tradeoffs. Because these products span several voltage families, I would not rank them as interchangeable alternatives: buyers should first identify their tool’s platform, then compare runtime, weight, and replacement preferences.
Factors to Consider When Choosing Best Kobalt Batteries
Before choosing from these batteries, I’d narrow the field by matching the tool platform, then decide how much runtime and weight the job calls for. The considerations below help avoid common mismatches and clarify when a larger or third-party pack makes sense.
Match the voltage platform before comparing capacity
Start with the voltage printed on your tool or its existing battery: this roundup includes 20V, 24V, 40V, and 80V families. Those labels identify different platforms, not a ladder where one battery can substitute for another. A 40V pack with a larger capacity will not become a fit for a 24V tool because its runtime looks attractive. Check the battery’s model or compatibility details against the exact tool, especially when buying a third-party replacement. Also verify the charger supports the battery platform. This simple check can rule out a tempting but unusable option before you compare any other specs.
Choose amp-hours for the job, not as a score
Amp-hours indicate stored capacity, but they do not tell the whole story about how a battery will feel in use. A higher-capacity pack may support longer work between charges, while adding bulk that can make a handheld tool tiring. For intermittent drilling or fastening, a smaller pack may be easier to manage than a high-capacity replacement. For repeated outdoor tasks, extra capacity can reduce charging interruptions, provided the added battery weight suits the equipment. Compare capacity within the same voltage platform rather than across different voltages. Think about the length of your typical work session, not the largest number on a listing.
Decide whether a single battery or multipack fits your routine
A two-pack can be useful if you regularly rotate batteries between a tool and a charger or need a spare ready for longer jobs. It can also be unnecessary if your work is brief and you already own compatible batteries. With third-party multipacks, the quantity should not distract from checking tool and charger compatibility for each pack. Consider where the batteries will be stored and whether you have a safe, suitable charging setup for them. Buyers who depend on a tool for frequent work may place greater value on a known replacement path and support than on receiving two batteries at once. Choose the pack format around your workflow, not just the number of batteries in the box.
Weigh genuine Kobalt fit against third-party replacement tradeoffs
Genuine Kobalt models are the straightforward choice for buyers who prefer a battery made for the named platform and want to keep their setup within one brand. Third-party options in this roundup offer alternatives that often emphasize larger stated capacity or multiple batteries. That can make them appealing for backup power, but compatibility and support deserve extra attention before purchase. Confirm the exact tool models listed as supported, the charger match, and the seller’s stated warranty or return terms. Do not assume that a connector that appears similar proves full compatibility. If dependable brand-specific replacement matters more than capacity per pack, favor a genuine model that matches your tool.
Account for balance, storage, and charging habits
Battery choice affects more than runtime: it can change how a tool balances in your hand and how easily you move between tasks. A compact battery can suit overhead or close-control work, while a larger pack may be more comfortable on equipment where battery weight is less noticeable. Before upgrading capacity, consider whether the tool’s grip and your work position can handle a heavier pack. Keep batteries in a dry storage spot and follow the manufacturer’s charging and storage instructions. If you own tools across multiple voltage platforms, label or organize batteries so you do not mix them up. These habits can make a multi-platform setup simpler and help you choose a pack that fits how you actually work.
Frequently Asked Questions
Can I use a 40V Kobalt battery in a 24V Kobalt tool?
No. A 40V battery is for compatible 40V equipment and should not be treated as a substitute for a 24V pack. Voltage platform, connection, and tool compatibility all matter; capacity does not override those requirements. Check the tool label or existing battery model before ordering a replacement. If the information is unclear, confirm compatibility through the product documentation or Kobalt support rather than relying on appearance alone.
Should I choose a third-party 6.0Ah battery instead of a genuine Kobalt 4.0Ah pack?
That depends on whether you prioritize stated capacity and pack quantity or brand-specific replacement confidence. A third-party 6.0Ah option may appeal if longer runtime or a multipack suits your work, but you should verify the exact tool and charger compatibility and review the seller’s support terms. A genuine Kobalt 4.0Ah pack is a more direct choice for buyers who want a battery from the tool brand. Do not compare capacity figures across different voltage platforms as if they were equivalent. Match the platform first, then weigh runtime, weight, and support.
Is a 2.0Ah battery enough for everyday Kobalt tools?
It can be a sensible choice for lighter or shorter tasks, particularly when keeping a tool easy to handle matters. It may call for more frequent charging than a higher-capacity option during extended work. The right answer depends on the tool and how long you use it between breaks, not on a universal runtime threshold. If you work in short bursts or already keep a spare charged, compact capacity can be practical. For long sessions, compare a higher-capacity battery on the same platform.
Does a larger amp-hour rating make a battery suitable for every Kobalt tool?
No. Amp-hours describe capacity, not platform compatibility. A battery still needs to match the tool’s voltage family and be listed as compatible with that model. Within a compatible platform, a larger pack may provide more stored capacity but can also add weight. Check both the tool and charger requirements before selecting a higher-capacity replacement. Treat capacity as a runtime choice only after confirming fit.
When does a two-pack make more sense than buying one Kobalt battery?
A two-pack can suit buyers who work through long sessions, rotate one battery while another charges, or need a spare across compatible tools. It is less useful if your jobs are brief or you already have a charged battery available. For third-party two-packs, verify compatibility for the specific tool and charger rather than assuming both batteries will work across every Kobalt platform. Consider the seller’s support terms as well as the number of packs. A single genuine battery may be the simpler choice when brand-specific fit matters more than having a backup.
Conclusion
For most buyers with a compatible 24V tool, I’d choose the Kobalt 24V Max 4.0Ah as the best overall balance. The best value for buyers seeking extra capacity or a spare is one of the compatible third-party two-packs, such as the SAPBJ 24V 6.0Ah pair or DTK 40V 6.2Ah pair, after confirming tool and charger fit. For a premium brand-specific route, choose the genuine Kobalt battery that matches your platform; the 80V models are for compatible 80V equipment, not a general upgrade. Beginners should start with a genuine Kobalt pack matching the battery already specified for their tool, with the 24V 2.0Ah model suited to lighter work. For specific needs, pick the Kobalt 40V 4.0Ah for compatible yard equipment, the 24V compact battery for lower weight, or an 80V battery only for an 80V system. The safest decision is the one that matches your platform first and your runtime needs second.
Fall Picks
fall essentials
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.


















